We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This time we were disappointed”
Review of Thai Pin - CLOSED

Thai Pin
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
553 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“This time we were disappointed”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Thai Pin is a very small restaurant located near Convent Market and really a neat find. It is located down a quiet street and has about 12-14 tables. The owner is nice, helpful, and likes to talk. Very welcoming. Menu has lots of items and he is full of suggestions. The food was was just okay this time. Not a lot of flavour given that it is Thai food. Screaming tiger beef was a small portion of cooked beef, thinly sliced, with a small side dish of sauce. Not only was the beef dry, this isn't they way to cook this dish which can be found on almost any Thai food menu. Satay chicken sticks were dry and again the sauce was an after thought. If you know your Thai food, you are looking for some spice, some taste, and some authenticity. For the price, and it is expensive, I would have hoped for more.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Challenger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    44
    16
    14
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Small and friendly”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This restaurant was a very welcome change from the hustle and bustle of most restaurants in London. It is also a welcome surprise to find an independent restaurant so close to the centre of the capital. As someone who abhors the monopolisation of huge chain restaurants (you know the ones I mean) I was so chuffed to find this place. I was travelling alone and the lone waitress/owner/maître d' could not have been friendlier. Such a lovely kind person, which again was a very welcome change in Central London. The food was outstanding, cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. I would not have hesitated in paying double what the bill actually was. I will absolutely, 100% return. Thank you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oskar642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a reasonable price - small and friendly :)”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Will definitely go back - often.
Such a refreshing change to find somewhere with good honest simple food, well cooked, friendly service and nice ambiance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

If you are looking for very basic simple fresh thai food - this is the place to go. Perfect if you are looking for a quick and tasty meal. Don't expect lavish surroundings the decoration is basic but the great value food and friendly service more then make up for this.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adon1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and warm”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I went there for lunch while I was waiting a friend around. Quick served and nice food. The service was really nice and the bill relevant. To try !!

Helpful?
Thank Olivier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Pin also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing