We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.”
Review of Auberge - Waterloo

Auberge - Waterloo
Ranked #6,405 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$20 - US$28
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Auberge Waterloo is ideally located opposite Waterloo StationIf it’s a traditional French gastro you’re looking for, Auberge Waterloo is the one. Directly opposite Waterloo tube station, this rustic venue promises to charm your guests from the moment they enter. Serving top quality, freshly prepared, French inspired food from midday until late seven days a week, Auberge Waterloo is conveniently located within a short walk of the South Bank and it's attractions including the London Eye, and Royal Festival Hall. The ground floor recalls a Belgian beer hall with assorted dark wood seating and twisted iron fixtures, perfect for gathering the troops after work. Meanwhile, upstairs in the candle lit restaurant, diners can expect attentive service and an extensive menu of classic French dishes.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I booked Auberge because they offer 2for1 on Tastecard and we were looking for a nice but inexpensive restaurant. It's a nice looking bar/restaurant just a minute from Waterloo station with a bar area downstairs and table service upstairs (where we sat).

The service was ok - pretty bland but fine. We both opted for the burger and fries. The food was quite tasty but we were disappointed that the onions were raw when the menu said 'sauteed' and the bun was slightly soggy.

Overall Auberge was fine for a quick, cheap meal (more pub-by food then restaurant) and I wouldn't be against going again if it was convenient and still on Tastecard but I would definitely try something different on the menu.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mrs_nre_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge - Waterloo, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear reviewer

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your burgers , we have noted your comments and will look to improve - but I was delighted that you would come and try something else next time and I hope that you do this really soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    87
    57
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious, what a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were looking for a place to eat on the Tastecard website and found Auberge. It was 241 across all courses, although required booking. Close to Waterloo station, it's a lovely restaurant situated beneath train tracks. It's cosy and stylish inside, with a pub-style area below and the restaurant upstairs.

We had garlic bread to start with on fresh baguette which was lovely, and I had lamb for my main (one of the nicest I've ever had!) and my boyfriend had duck. We were both very satisfied with our food, and the serving sizes were decent.

The only reason I'm not giving this 5 stars is because our attentive waiter forgot the extra side dish of vegetables, and, despite including service charge, didn't bring us our change from our bill until we waited for several more minutes.

Other than that, we were very happy, the food was good, the choice was excellent, and with 241 the prices were very reasonable. 2 courses and a drink cost us about £13-15 each.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katandko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge - Waterloo, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting your review I absolutely agree with your comments it is a lovely cosy bar and restaurant and the lamb is amazing cooked by our great team! " for 1 is a great way to try us too! We are very close to Waterloo station we are opposite the main underground entrance. We really hope that you will come and use us again really soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An excellent evening out - what a nice surprise!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We visited Auberge by chance as we were given a 2 for 1 voucher (but one main course and get a second one free) and I have to say we were really impressed with the restaurant, food and service...and even the price wasn't bad either!
I had booked online that day which didn't appear to have got through to them and so could have been a problem had they not had a table free at the time. It wasn't a problem at all, we were shown to a nicely located table and throughout the evening got really good service from all the waiting staff.
We both ordered bread to start and fish for mains, followed by choc mousse - all the food was fab and served within good periods of time - not too short and not too long.
We also ordered wine and were brought a jug of water (without having to ask!!).
Nice ambience and decor, nice and lively as the pub bar is downstairs but not rowdy.
All in all great value for money (£70 for 2 of us - with service!) and we will definitely be back - so handy for the train home too!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kazbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge - Waterloo, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

Martina and her team were really delighted to read your lovely comments and feedback. It is truly great when customers take the time to praise the good experiences on this site and we really appreciate it !

We really do try and ensure all customers get a great experience and we really look forward to seeing you again really soon

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent quality meal”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Delicious meal, but could have been hotter. Not attractive location, but very pleasant inside, particularly upstairs, and extremely convenient for Waterloo station. Check website for offers before going. We downloaded a voucher for a free main course when another main course was purchased and both diners purchase a drink.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrissy1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge - Waterloo, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your review and please come and see us again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great pit stop dinner”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Saturday night dinner, after a day out sightseeing, and before a train journey home.
Very good dinner, prompt service: actually, they were really accommodating in magicing up a child's dinner that wasn't on the menu: so gold star for that. They adapted an adult meal to make it child friendly.
Leffe blond on tap.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tedfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen m, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge - Waterloo, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback - and yes we will try and accomodate any requests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge - Waterloo also viewed

 

Been to Auberge - Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing