We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place for Dim Sum”
Review of New Loon Fung

New Loon Fung
Ranked #1,912 of 25,827 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue
Description: New Loon Fung Restaurant has been in Chinatown for over 30 years. We have recently taken over and only opened three months ago. We had a complete overhaul and gut-out of the old restaurant. The new fit-out comprises a mix of modern and traditional features.The gut-out included getting rid of the old staff and employing a completely new, young and friendly team. We have established values of providing authentic traditional Chinese cuisine and matching that with the new non-stereotypical Chinatown service. Providing an uncompromising friendly and attentive service second to none in Chinatown.We look forward to your custom soon.
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This is nice and friendly place for Dim Sum in Chinatown. The prices are OK and the decor is clean and bright. When we lived in London for many years this was our "go to" for Dim Sum and on a visit back here it still delivers!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jake-from-Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 331 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2016

This restaurant serves really good Chinese dishes and offers a wide variety of Dim Sums. The food took a bit longer to arrive but the service was not bad overall. Clean. Nice staff.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jajalumaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2016

You got it at "New Loon Fung"! And it's delicious...and you can have it any day, steamed or deep fried. However you like it, steamed or deep fried, you are certain to ask for more, on its own or as a starter! The rest of the menu is equally scrumptious, and the service, impeccable!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Edmund E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We came to China town looking for a great taste of China. We certainly found it. Great service and a chicken curry with a kick. Value for money. We will definitely visit again

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2016

About 20 of us met up to say goodbye to some friends who were leaving to work in Malta for a period of time, we met in O'Neill's for a few drinks and then went on to this restaurant I had pre-booked. We arrived with a great round table by the window upstairs and were welcomed warmly by the staff.
AS per usual it was left for me to order and I do so accordingly, whole duck, whole lobster, sizzling beef x 2, 4 soft shell crabs, egg fried rice, chicken chow mien, crispy beef, chicken and cashew nuts and a few other dishes - with a standard round of drinks or three :)
Food was served brilliantly and drinks flowed at the right time, we were not rushed and enjoyed our time there - the food was amazing especially the lobster and crab - def worth a go in my opinion.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Toolain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed New Loon Fung also viewed

 

Been to New Loon Fung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.