We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could Do Better”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of HK Diner - CLOSED

HK Diner
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Soho
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Could Do Better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The welcome was underwhelming. The meal was OK, the food was mainly good but would have been better if kept hot once delivered to the table. The crispy pork was disappointing. I could not understand how the bill was calculated, and I suspect it was a bit higher than it should have been.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark_and_Ann_Reilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    60
    41
    28
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Be wary”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This "recommended by a friend" restaurant was exactly as expected. Sullen staff, huge menu, overlooked order delivered late. The food was, however, very tasty. I was a little concerned about the luke warm special fried rice and the very RIPE tasting prawn within. I should have discreetly spat it out with hind sight. An Asian friend has, in the past, warned me about the perils of reheated rice - DONT GO THERE. Several rapid toilet visits and abdominal cramps the next morning -suggest trying somewhere else next time I fancy a Chinese in London Thanks chum xxx

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Passable food, awful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I don't frequently feel the need to write reviews, but for HK Diner I must make an exception. I've been to this restaurant a few times previously as the food has been quite good; however, my most recent visit will be my last. The restaurant was busy, so I can understand the staff being a little stressed - but the behaviour of the manager was simply inexcusable.

The meal started poorly. The manager showed us to our table, and proceeded to slam our menus down and storm off. It caused us to immediately feel uncomfortable; as if our presence was a burden. Fortunately we were served by other members of staff following this initial encounter, and the service was passable, if not particularly friendly.

After our main courses, the plates were removed and our bill was brought to us. We settled the bill quickly and proceeded to spend five to ten minutes or so finishing our tea. Suddenly, the manager approached us, and proceeded to confront us in an aggressive manner, shouting at us to leave as there was a queue. It was embarrassing for not only us, but the diners around us. Whilst shocked, we quickly got up to leave as we did not want to further provoke a man whose temper was clearly at breaking point.

I understand that the restaurant was busy and that they needed the table. I do however dine out frequently and ensure that I do not exceed my welcome. Prior to this confrontation we were finishing drinks that we had paid for in a timely manner. Regardless, the behaviour of the manager was appalling and to be honest, quite intimidating.

Please do avoid this restaurant - there are other restaurants with comparable food and significantly better service footsteps away. The number of other reviews criticising the service should prove that I am not alone in my experience; had I read them before I would not have set foot in the door.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, big shame about the service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Admittedly, the food is really good here. It's the only reason I have visited the restaurant several times. My latest visit however will certainly be my last. The staff were particularly rude and impatient on this occasion. Not long after we finished our meal, paid the bill and were sipping our tea, the manager came over with a face of thunder and demanded that we leave as he had a queue of people waiting. I think he even slammed his hand down on our table, and then stormed off. It was pretty much being told to get out now that you're done. My friend and I were in shock. I've always thought the service below par but this really was unnecessary. I can understand their need for tables on a busy night, but I can't understand how the message could not have been conveyed in a politer way. A perfectly good night and meal was ruined. We left feeling very angry and determined to write this review! So if you want to try your luck, be prepared for some very moody level of service, which may not be worth the meal itself, no matter how good the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“terrible service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

i hate to think that this diner is still in business with the horrible customer service that would annoy anyone who is forced to pay the service charge! they literally force you out of there as soon as they see you have finished. it is NOT a rule to pay this discretionary service charge if you feel customer service has fallen below your expectation. never ever return there again. disgusting attitude to paying customers!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kacycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HK Diner also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing