We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Dragon Chinese

Royal Dragon Chinese
Ranked #15,973 of 22,225 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Soho
Blankenberge, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We went here last wednesday and had the Peking style set menu. Starters, crispy duck pancakes and all the mains were very good and good portions too. The only thing that bothered me were the many waiters constantly watching us and taking the plates away the second you finish a dish. But that's how it goes in many places in Chinatown.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patten13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    94
    54
    24
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gone back to an old favourite...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Have been coming to this restaurant for years & always found the dim sum & crispy duck the best. The decor is a bit dark & dated but the food has been consistently good. The service is great - they know their regulars & treat them well. The price is very reasonable for West End restaurants & I like that I don't get rushed. We've tried dim sum in quite a few of the restaurants in Chinatown, Berwick Street & Queensway - some much more pricey & more up-market, but find this more consistently better both with quality of food & service. Now we're reluctant to try other restaurants for dim sum, but we'll keep trying. Watch this space....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank woollymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I felt like they knew me.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

My sister and I were ambling through China Town looking for a place to catch up and we stopped at Royal Dragon. We hesitated in the doorway, since there looked like a bit of a queue. However the waiter immediately came up to us and ushered us to a secluded table near the back of the restaurant - perfect location for a good old natter.

The restaurant manager came over to take our order, and started chattering away, very friendly and complimentary. We were treated as if we were old friends rather than new customers. It was lovely. The rest of the waiting staff were attentive without being overbearing, and all very friendly.

The food was very good. We had the 19.50 set three course menu. The ribs and chicken satay in the starter were fantastic, and the sweet and sour prawns in the main course were definitely a reasonto go back.

I'm rarely enthusiastic enough about eating out to rush back and review, but this was such a pleasant evening, made all the more so by the attitudes of the staff, that I felt I had to share. I'm looking forward to returning.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AMGruber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
125 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Late night yummy feast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Faced with a row of similar-looking eateries, we chose this restaurant using the tripadvisor reviews, and we weren't disappointed. We were late to eat as we'd just left the Apollo Theatre after a play.
The food and service were excellent. The ambience is relaxing.
I'd recommend the BBQ pork, it was outstanding, as were the chinese vegetables. The dim sum were also amazing. Will be back next time we're in London's Chinatown!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debs_A_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
1,145 reviews
506 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Good food at very good price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

I have to say that I have been here several times and find it always good. Pricing is very good especially considering that we are in the heart of london.
The all inclusive menus are highly suggested

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Torino74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Dragon Chinese also viewed

 

Been to Royal Dragon Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing