We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franco's

Franco's
Ranked #1,007 of 22,217 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Cross street: St James's
Transit: Green Park, St James's & Piccadilly tube stations are all 5 minutes walk away.
Description: Opened in 1946 in Mayfair, Franco's restaurant has been one of London's most popular Italian establishments ever since. It continues to offer local gourmets a tranquil oasis away from the buzz of the city. Set at the St James���s end of Jermyn Street, Franco's is fantastically located for the galleries, private clubs and hotels of the area. And the pre-theatre and afternoon tea menus are a delight. The restaurant���s character evolves throughout the day from the early morning breakfasts to laid-back lunches and romantic candlelit dinners in the evening. The elegant 1940���s-inspired d��cor is bright and modern, with light wood, off-white walls and comfy upholstered dining chairs. Franco's sumptuous Mediterranean menu has been developed by Head Chef Paulo Parlanti and showcases fresh seasonal produce in traditional and modern Italian dishes. Popular dishes include the duck breast with Castelluccio lentils; ossobucco ravioli with veal jus; and the classic tiramisu. Service is flawless and the wine list is a winner too.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I've been to here before with a good impression for the food and atmosphere. But when my friend and me came here at Saturday night, everything's changed. The foods are just ok with no creativity and idea, not well-cooked and tasteless. I don't know if the chief was changed, but the problem is attitude that such as mussels were even a little smelly. The dinner cost £50 each without dessert, but the quality is worse than some £15 restaurants. The older Italian waiter was not friendly at all. Very unworthy and disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Liamaerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancosJermynStreet, General Manager at Franco's, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Liamaerd
Thank you for taking the time to write with your feedback on your dinner with us. I am very saddened that you were disappointed with the food as we strive daily to ensure that the quality of ingredients and method of cooking is first class. I have passed your feedback on to our chef and restaurant manager. I would like to think that your experience must have been a one off blip as we have many regular guests that dine with us daily. I very much hope that you will be able to forgive us in time and hopefully you will give us a second chance.
Yours sincerely
Jason Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    157
    53
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The food here is great and pretty fast to come out too, which was good seeing as we were quite a large group! At one point it was fairly difficult to get a waiter's attention but apart from that we had a fab time. On a random note, the toilets weren't playing music in there, they were playing an audio book of Winnie the Pooh, which I wouldn't say was a negative thing but a rather strange experience! Overall it was good and I'd go back again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancosJermynStreet, General Manager at Franco's, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Becky W
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback on your dinner with us as part of a large group, we are very pleased that you had a lovely time. With regard to ‘Winnie the Pooh’ playing in our loo’s, it was always our intention to play audio books rather than music from the day we opened. The day before we opened I received an Audio version of ‘Winnie the Pooh’ as part of a Sunday paper, it was then that I decided to focus on Children’s books, with the intention of rotating them regularly. For some reason all our guests loved listening to the original CD, so much so that we would receive complaints if ‘Winnie the Pooh’ was not playing!
I hope that this has not put you off returning as we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With kind regards
Jason Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Italian ever eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Fantastic food, service and atmosphere!! Highly recommend to anyone (though limited veggie options) but our party member who was vegetarian had a great meal

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clairey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancosJermynStreet, General Manager at Franco's, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Claire45
Thank you ever so much for such a great review! We are all delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us so much. Keep spreading the word.
With kind regards
Jason Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A QUICK COFFEE IN ST JAMES'S”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

It was a pre-meeting get-together and all we wanted was a coffee/sparkling water as we chatted. Although Franco's is primarily a restaurant it will accommodate requests, providing a table is free, for just beverages. Worth bearing in mind as here you are served rather than having to queue at a counter as is the norm in cafes in the area. A good prelude to a meeting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPA38210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancosJermynStreet, General Manager at Franco's, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear JPA38210
Thank you very much your feedback on Tripadvisor, Franco’s has been serving the community of St James’s and Jermyn Street since the 1940’s. I am delighted that the restaurant is as popular today as it was then and still a safe haven be it for breakfast, a coffee, lunch or dinner. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
With kind regards
Jason Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great spot for summer lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent food and service that is a bit different. We sat on the pavement under an awning during a summer rain storm. It was fun to watch the people go by and observe the work of building renovation going on around us. It was also good to have the fresh breeze in humid conditions. Our waiter recommended a glass of Gavi de Gavi to go with our special cod cooked with olives, asparagus and sun dried tomatoes. An excellent choice. The scallops starter in red onion was also perfect. To finish we just had coffee.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobinDesBoisBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancosJermynStreet, General Manager at Franco's, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Robin
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at Franco’s. We are very blessed to have four tables outside which allow our guests to enjoy watching the world go by and or shelter from a summer storm! A good Gavi de Gavi and delicious food is also a welcome bonus! We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully this time it will be sunny for you!
With kind regard
Jason Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Franco's also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Franco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing