We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Meal!”
Review of Cafe des Amis - CLOSED

Cafe des Amis
Price range: US$26 - US$40
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Cross street: Long Acre
Transit: Covent Garden, Leicester Square, Holborn
Description: Established for 30 years, Café des Amis is a Covent Garden icon for food excellence. Following the seasons with harmony, Café des Amis serves modern European cuisine with a twist of French; emphasising quality and simplicity. Gourmands and gourmets will enjoy this mixture of flavours to create modern European cuisine. The Wine and Champagne Bar offers a delicious cheese platter to complement your drinks. A warm atmosphere with crystal drop lighting and dark velvet seating allows you to indulge yourself in your visit. Café des Amis also has a traditional brasserie terrace to enjoy the spring and summer times.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another Great Meal!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Another great meal at this fantastic Restaurant. The staff are really friendly and helpful and bill is so reasonable!

I'm so impressed that I've just booked a midweek lunch in April 2014 for 30+ people. Now that's what I call putting myself in the firing line!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    396
    245
    174
    150
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service and inconsistent food standard”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My partner and I visited Cafe Des Amis on Saturday night and came away very disappointed. We visited in July and loved it but our experience was very different this time.

We ordered a bottle of wine which arrived after we had finished our starter course. I would also add that the starter of French Onion Soup (which in July I would have given a 10/10 was such a let down). With a very watery consistency, few onions and a tiny piece of bread and cheese on the top, we were not happy with our starter.

The main course of haddock and crushed new potatoes was lovely.

Our desserts (which we had to wait 30 minutes to even order) were very different from each others. Having both ordered the chocolate fondant, mine arrived 5 minutes before my partners and mine was gooey and his dry! Considering we ordered these at the same time, I couldn't believe the service and the food standard for the dessert.

We had a different waiter deliver each of our courses and we were not met with good customer service.

I am thoroughly disappointed and will not be recommending this restaurant to any friends or family in future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aweful”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Rushed service. Food clearly precooked and kept warm in the oven, steak reminded me of school dinners, dry and tough, poor quality meat. Chips were wrinkly from being kept warm for hours. Complained and there was no denial of this. Really crap restaurant, clearly doesnt make its money from repeat customers and relies on duping people with the 50% off deal thats always on, even after that its massively overpriced. Save your money and go to cafe rouge around the corner, may not be fancy or fashionable but they know how to cook a steak

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
78 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dinner with chums”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Friday evening, restaurant full, great atmosphere, loud (just like our group) friendly, great food fantastic night out!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good great location”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We visited this restaurant for my daughters birthday after a busy day shopping in London it was very nice food and service very good great price . Only complaint was it was a little cold up stairs as we were sat under Air Con but I would not let this put you off as it's a great little restaurant .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mayfeild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe des Amis also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing