We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good meal good value”
Review of Cafe des Amis - CLOSED

Cafe des Amis
Price range: US$26 - US$40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Cross street: Long Acre
Transit: Covent Garden, Leicester Square, Holborn
Description: Established for 30 years, Café des Amis is a Covent Garden icon for food excellence. Following the seasons with harmony, Café des Amis serves modern European cuisine with a twist of French; emphasising quality and simplicity. Gourmands and gourmets will enjoy this mixture of flavours to create modern European cuisine. The Wine and Champagne Bar offers a delicious cheese platter to complement your drinks. A warm atmosphere with crystal drop lighting and dark velvet seating allows you to indulge yourself in your visit. Café des Amis also has a traditional brasserie terrace to enjoy the spring and summer times.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“good meal good value”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was a last minute booking and the reviews were mixed, but it was easy to reserve a table. We arrived early ,but they managed to take us 30 mins early. The food was well presented and excellent, we joked with the waitress that we couldnt eat the mint leaf- that was all on our plates at the end of the meal. Good value, except i dont like a gratuity being added to my bill- so remember they have already taken your money dont do it twice. Well worth a visit if you want a meal in London - Staff particularly to be commended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    396
    243
    174
    150
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I've been to this restaurant twice within 8 months and each time I was very impressed with both the service and the standard of food. The second time I had my Time Out offer and read some negative comments before I had been and was concerned that standards had dropped but I need not have worried. From the start we were met with polite service at the reception and our food was of the highest standard. The scallop risotto starter was just the right portion and tasted lovely. I had sundried tomato ravioli for my mains which was extremely tasty, my companions seabass with mash etc was also fresh and very nice. We also had bread basket with olives, again fresh and tasty. Topped off with a couple of glasses of prosecco and we had a lovely afternoon, spending over 2.5 hours eating there
So all in all very wonderful experience eating twice at this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Travelzoo deal”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This our third visit to Café Des Amis. It is certainly consistent in its quality of food. We have always had great tasty food and on the Travelzoo deal it is really good value. Initially we were shown to a table upstairs but we found it a little too noisy for us - think the acoustics created a slight echo. However, staff were very friendly and were able to find us a table downstairs. The service was good. I recommend the venison, very tender and went well with the Prosecco!

Yes, we will return for a fourth time!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clowny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevenoaks
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“What a shame”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was our 4th visit to this vibrant restaurant in Covent Garden. We had purchased a £39.00 Luxury meal voucher and booked in advance, as we knew it would be busy as always and we were right!

Great choice of all courses on the A la Carte Menu, and we chose a Scallop and Prawn and a Rocquefort and Beetroot starter, For mains it was Sea Bass and Smoked haddock, both came with a small amount of vegetable but additional sides are extra , and they were needed.

Our voucher included a glass of wine and we chose white French wine which was perfect, the waiter did not define the wine further when asked but we wenjoyed what we had.

Service was very good with a plentiful supply of water.

As we had purchased some extra items we knew we would have to pay the balance on top of our voucher value. When the bill came only £29.00 had been deducted, we thought it was an error so asked for a new bill , when it came the balance to pay had gone up not down! When we queried this the waiter explained that it was because they increased the service charge??? None of this makes sense except that the service charge is at 12.5% so they stand to gain. We then asked to go back to our original bill, which they gave us and we paid!!

It was a shame this happened as we had enjoyed a very good day in London and we were left with the feeling that somehow the restaurant had got greedy, for just a few pence more and it was not what we have come to expect from this usually delightful place to finish a day out, not sure if we will go again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaBSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Servive, Food to die for!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My friends and I were visiting London recently and this was without a doubt one of our favourite parts of our adventure! Great menu with great variations. Staff were very friendly!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreatCustomerService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe des Amis also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing