We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Evening”
Review of Silk & Grain

Silk & Grain
Reserve with OpenTable
Silk & Grain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,487 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: Restaurant and unique cocktail bar that specialises in 'aged' cocktails and British steak cuts cooked in a josper oven, in the heart of the City.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Evening”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We decided to try out a new cocktail bar/restaurant in the City and had an amazing night at the Silk and Grain. The food was incredible and the staff were friendly and attentive. However the quality of the cocktails are what made me note this new bar as a place to return to. The staff were incredible at suggesting and creating the most wonderful cocktails. I thoroughly recommend checking this new bar out, particularly if you (like me) enjoy fabulous quality food and drink.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trinkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James U, General Manager at Silk & Grain, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our bar and restaurant on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled you noted the excellent cocktail offering and this resonates as a reason to return - we look forward to welcoming you when you do!

Warm regards,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    48
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

How much steak and chips can the City take I wonder? I think I can walk in blindfold to most places and order the same. So this looks like Hawksmoor with a bit of Boisdale thrown in. So emphasis on dry aged steaks (yawn), various chips (yawn) and some extras for variety (pork belly, chicken, obligatory burger).

Starter selection looks very Hawksmoorish. Sirloin & fillet steak very nice - but a medium rare fillet was under cooked. Nice piece of meat. Skinny chips with truffled parmesan - nice but again no innovation. Blue cheese hollandaise (thanks again Hawksmoor) disastrous - custard with little or no hint of blue cheese.

£101 for 2 steak & chips, bottle of water & 2 glasses of wine is a bit pricey. And it was just meh. Somewhere to go if you're close for a business lunch but nothing else. None of the hip or zip of other places.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarristerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James U, General Manager at Silk & Grain, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed the standard of the food you did try (with the exception of the sauce which I will review with the kitchen).

Our menu offering and creation was a long and thoughtful process. Prior to closing the previous business, we spent a long time getting feedback from our valued regular customers as to what they would like to see on the menu. There was an overwhelming demand for a strong steak offering and British dishes. We believe this is what we have offered and the feedback has been great.

If you are seeking innovation and hip & zip - why not come back and try our aged cocktails. All of our cocktails are aged on site using different vessels to create innovative flavours and textures. We adopt methods such as barrel ageing, metal conditioning, leather ageing and bottle conditioning. We are in fact, the only aged cocktail bar in the United Kingdom, and our customers have enjoyed tours of our ageing caves in the basement. The feedback has been that this is an incredibly innovative element of the business, and entirely unique within the UK bar and restaurant scene.

Hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

James Urquhart
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food right in the heart of the City”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I visited Silk and Grain not long after it opened and was pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. Staff were friendly and welcoming, drinks were prepared promptly by informative staff who were more than happy to explain the cocktail list. We then moved upstairs for dinner where I enjoyed scallops , a fantastic sirloin steak cooked perfectly, medium rare. I particularly enjoyed the sweet potato chips as a side. This was all washed down with a lovely bottle of malbec. Again, waitresses were polite and service was great. Will definitely be heading back there and will be recommending others to do the same.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James U, General Manager at Silk & Grain, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Stuart,

Thanks for visiting us at Silk & Grain and for writing a lovely review on Trip Advisor. Thrilled that you made a particular reference to our lovely cocktails and steak! Hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New city cocktail bar and restaurant”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Lovely addition to the Bank area. Particularly enjoyed the cocktails, which are 'aged' in house in barrels. I had a Negroni, which was great.

Restaurant was lovely with good steaks and polite and smiley staff!

Would definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James U, General Manager at Silk & Grain, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Hope to see you at Silk & Grain again soon!

Warm regards,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“best cocktails in town”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The food and service is exceptional. Highly recommend the 7 oz steak which is mouth watering perfection. Cocktails to die for.... perfect for after work drinks!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodjunkie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James U, General Manager at Silk & Grain, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review, in particular a mention to our 7oz fillet - my personal favourite!

Hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Silk & Grain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing