We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decor/atmosphere, the food however was disappointing!”
Review of Asia de Cuba

Asia de Cuba
Ranked #493 of 23,357 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$94
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Cross street: Long Acre
Transit: Leicester Square, Charing Cross, Covent garden, Picadilly Circus
Description: For global travellers with a cultured palate and a love of variety, Asia de Cuba is a destination restaurant with a must-taste fusion philosophy. The iconic St Martins Lane eatery has been newly renovated and now offers an updated menu and whimsical, enchanting interior design. Cuban-born executive concept chef Luis Pous enhances Jeffrey Chodorow's original culinary vision with experimental combinations and a new twist on old favourites. Inspired by the cultural synthesis of old Havana's Chinatown, Pous interprets Asian-influenced Cuban fare for a modern crowd and a discerning palate. The new Asia de Cuba retains the same authentic preparations, tropical accents, and sharing-style presentation loved by guests and food critics alike, now enhanced with a creative new menu and a chic new dining sanctuary. Fresh ingredients, handcrafted dishes, and eye-catching interiors make for an unforgettable dining experience with surprising cultural flavours. Bottomless Brunch runs from Friday to Sunday, with live music on a Saturday. Summer Terrace: Created in partnership with premium gin Tanqueray No. TEN, discover our summer terrace at St Martins Lane which is divided into two elements, representing the hotel’s interior outlets. One part echoes The Den serving Gin & Tonic Afternoon Tea that will satisfy and surprise the most discerning of the tipple’s enthusiasts; the other will reflect Asia de Cuba providing a selection of exclusive gin pairings.
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Definitely a great place to walk into and feel you are about to have a fabulous meal, however everyone in our party of 5 was disappointed with their meal! The menu is promising but in most dishes the 'flavour' was often too strong if not overpowering even. Presentation is great however.. Maybe just photographing the food would be good enough & not actually eating it as such...or perhaps just eating half of what is on the plate. If you are a good food devotee I don't think you'd be happy here, nevertheless a good place to see and be seen in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MafaldaMafalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoxanneMHGC, Guest Relations Manager at Asia de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit to Asia de Cuba at St Martins Lane.

We are glad that you enjoyed the décor and the presentation of our unique fusion dishes but are obviously disappointed that you and your party found the flavours too strong.

We would be interested to receive some more feedback from you so if you have the time to contact me with more information we would like to hear from you. My email address is
roxanne.thompson@mhgc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,320 - 1,324 of 2,075 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Very tasty food, and service was excellent. Very friendly staff. We were being looked after by Nadja, very attentive and helpful.

The bar however is something else, don't order pre dinner drinks in the bar, took about 40min for our drinks to be made and by then we were already sat down in the restaurant and ordered our food.

Thank Nonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoxanneMHGC, Guest Relations Manager at Asia de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you Nonde for your 5 star review of Asia de Cuba at St Martins Lane.

Nadja is pleased that you enjoyed being served by her as much as she was happy to attend to you on the evening.

Please e-mail me at roxanne.thompson@mhgc.com, and I will be able to arrange your next reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I went to Asia de Cuba, with some work colleagues.
The service was fabulous, attentive but discreet and friendly.

We had the taster menu and it was absolutley delish! I didn't know what to exect, having looked at some of the reviews here, prior to going, but very glad I went along, open minded!

I really liked the decor and would highly recommend the restaurant!
Lovely!

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PhillipaPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoxanneMHGC, Guest Relations Manager at Asia de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you Phillipaharrison8 for your excellent review of Asia de Cuba at St Martins Lane.

The tasting menu is one of our most popular menus as it allows guests to try several of the chefs’ favourite dishes, so it is wonderful to know that you enjoyed this.

Please join us again and next time, please ensure you join us at Light Bar for pre-dinner cocktails, you contact me at roxanne.thompson@mhgc and I can assist with any reservation queries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We opted for the taster menu and was really impressed. Food was excellent, there is plenty of it you will not leave hungry thats for sure. The food quality was great and the waiters explained each course.

We had a glass of champagne included in the price as we booked via opentable. The wine list was good and not too over the top with so many wines you cannot choose. I opted for the Montipulciano which was excellent.

Service and surroundings was perfect just enough attention without being in your face. We spent a good couple of hours at the table.

The location can be hard to find as there wasnt a sign outside but its in the hotel on Martins Lane. It looks a bit like a glass office block from the outside but there is a "45" on the door so you know you are there..

I would definately eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eddie_Catflap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoxanneMHGC, Guest Relations Manager at Asia de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you Eddie_Catflap, for your wonderful review of Asia de Cuba at St Martins Lane.

We are so delighted that you enjoyed our Tasting menu, which is a selection of our Head Chef’s favourite dishes. Our servers will also be pleased that you found their service perfect.

Please join us again for another glass of Montepulciano and e-mail myself directly at Roxanne.thompson@mhgc.com when you have your next date in mind to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Exceptional food and service, only restaurant we keep going back to in London. Remember not to order 1 main course each as far too much, the staff will explain when you arrive! Although a top end 5 star restaurant with prices to match, still great value for money

Thank David1510784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoxanneMHGC, Guest Relations Manager at Asia de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you David, for such an outstanding 5 star review of Asia de Cuba at St Martins Lane.

It is an honour to be called the best restaurant in London, by a regular guest.

We look forward to your return and on your next visit I would love to arrange your reservation, please contact me Roxanne.thompson@mhgc.com when you book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asia de Cuba also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Asia de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing