We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come here for their cocktails, not their food”

Beach Blanket Babylon
Ranked #16,731 of 23,873 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$36 - US$56
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Notting Hill
Cross street: Westbourne Grove
Transit: Notting Hill Gate tube is a 5 to 8 minute walk from us.
Description: Beach Blanket Babylon Notting Hill is a townhouse serving quality British food and inspired cocktails from lunch till late. Our menus update seasonally and our venue is perfect for exploring Baroque, Rococo led design and our Ballroom hosts the best banquets around. Grand fireplaces, glistening chandeliers and exceptional food and drink make us the place to be to take in the sheer decadence of it all.
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I visit BBB quite a fair bit, I mostly come here for their cocktails and drinks (Pornstar Martini A++++) - they have taken this off the drinks menu but will still make it if you ask for it.

I have stopped dining here since 2008 - their food has gone downhill since and I avoid eating there if I can.

Withstanding that, I love the ambiance in there and service is always friendly enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob F, Public Relations Manager at Beach Blanket Babylon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the feedback following your visits to BBB Notting Hill Jimmy; we're pleased to hear you are a big fan of our cocktails and we have passed on your comments regarding the food to the relevant manager for review. Please do not hesitate to come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 456 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

I saw this on a voucher deal and liked the name of the place and thought to give it a try with my wife. the interior is beautiful, cosy and very interesting . the service was good and food was certainly of a standard you would expect from a top restaurant. the crab cakes were excellent and the bruschetta were good, for main the duck was perfect and the chicken was also very good. not a cheap night out even with a voucher but you certainly don't feel let down in any way in terms of quality of food and service. i don't mind paying full price and will be taking some friends there next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bavsta306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob F, Public Relations Manager at Beach Blanket Babylon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the positive feedback following your recent visit to BBB Notting Hill; we're pleased to hear you had a good time and enjoyed the food! Please do come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The interior was quirky and very bohemian with its little corners and funky decor. Unfortunately it was very dark and we needed our phones to read the menus!!!!

The service was good but the food was overpriced and lukewarm ..... Three out of seven sent our meals back because they were lukewarm.....i had chilli squid, I didn't taste any chilli and felt it was over done. I complained about my spatchcock chicken or lack of it... It was all bone .... I've never seen a spatchcock chicken that resembled a sparrow.... I complained and the manager, who was very apologetic came over and said he would take 2 meals of the bill and remove the service charge!! Great but I left hungry!!!!

Would I go again, probably not!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tracie_d_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob F, Public Relations Manager at Beach Blanket Babylon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the feedback following your recent visit to BBB Notting Hill Tracie. We're very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the food and we have passed on your feedback to the relevant manager for review. We hope that you would consider trying BBB again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We went there for lunch and the restaurant was not busy. The first cause came and was nice but after and hour we had to start chasing for our main course. Mine was a hamburger o it wasn't complicated. When it came it was dry and the chips were so crispy you could not put a fork into them. Using fingers over a business meal is a no no.

No time for desert so we got the bill which again took ages to come and then we sat waiting for someone to process the credit card to not avail so eventually we went to the bar and told them to sort it out

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 21Davids22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob F, Public Relations Manager at Beach Blanket Babylon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the feedback following your recent visit to BBB Notting Hill; we understand you may have had some problems with the food and service and we want to assure you that your comments have been passed on to the relevant managers for review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stopped in for a cocktail before dinner reservations at a different restaurant. The atmosphere is fun, and the decor is so cute. Cocktails were fab!

Thank tRvlChic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob F, Public Relations Manager at Beach Blanket Babylon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the positive feedback following your recent visit to BBB Notting Hill; we're pleased to hear you had a good time and enjoyed the cocktails! We'd love to see you again soon and perhaps stay with us for some dinner?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beach Blanket Babylon also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Beach Blanket Babylon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing