We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply wonderful”

Beach Blanket Babylon
Reserve with OpenTable
Beach Blanket Babylon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15,257 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$33 - US$51
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Notting Hill
Cross street: Westbourne Grove
Transit: Notting Hill Gate tube is a 5 to 8 minute walk from us.
Description: Beach Blanket Babylon Notting Hill is a townhouse serving quality British food and inspired cocktails from lunch till late. Our menus update seasonally and our venue is perfect for exploring Baroque, Rococo led design and our Ballroom hosts the best banquets around. Grand fireplaces, glistening chandeliers and exceptional food and drink make us the place to be to take in the sheer decadence of it all.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The dining experience in this restaurant was absolutely astounding. We were dining at Beach Blanket Babylon on the day of our wedding, together with our friends, and left with the feeling that choosing this particular location for our special celebration was undoubtedly a great idea.

The restaurant itself is absolutely lovely, with its unusual and wonderfully creative and quirky decor. Our weighted Giuseppe, who took care of us throughout the entire evening, did an outstanding job. He was incredibly professional yet welcoming and friendly, extremely swift and highly accommodating, excellent in his recommendations during our indecisive moments and was all together simply fantastic. The creatively presented food was impressively delicious.
I will be recommending this restaurant to family and friends and will naturally be going back myself.
Thank you to Beach Blanket Babylon and Giuseppe for the wonderful experience on our very special day.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L_Bseleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob F, Public Relations Manager at Beach Blanket Babylon, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review BBB Notting Hill, your feedback is of the utmost importance to us and we're thrilled to hear you had an excellent time on your recent visit. Please do come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    161
    108
    97
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“quirky sunday lunch”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

warmly welcomed by staff . given choice of table . attentive staff nice food interesting décor and layout . enjoyable lunch in warm friendly ambience with an added touch of glamour

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob F, Public Relations Manager at Beach Blanket Babylon, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback following your recent visit to BBB Notting Hill Lesley; we're pleased to hear you had a good time! Please do come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Come here for their cocktails, not their food”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I visit BBB quite a fair bit, I mostly come here for their cocktails and drinks (Pornstar Martini A++++) - they have taken this off the drinks menu but will still make it if you ask for it.

I have stopped dining here since 2008 - their food has gone downhill since and I avoid eating there if I can.

Withstanding that, I love the ambiance in there and service is always friendly enough.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob F, Public Relations Manager at Beach Blanket Babylon, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the feedback following your visits to BBB Notting Hill Jimmy; we're pleased to hear you are a big fan of our cocktails and we have passed on your comments regarding the food to the relevant manager for review. Please do not hesitate to come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic even on a monday night”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I saw this on a voucher deal and liked the name of the place and thought to give it a try with my wife. the interior is beautiful, cosy and very interesting . the service was good and food was certainly of a standard you would expect from a top restaurant. the crab cakes were excellent and the bruschetta were good, for main the duck was perfect and the chicken was also very good. not a cheap night out even with a voucher but you certainly don't feel let down in any way in terms of quality of food and service. i don't mind paying full price and will be taking some friends there next time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bavsta306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob F, Public Relations Manager at Beach Blanket Babylon, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback following your recent visit to BBB Notting Hill; we're pleased to hear you had a good time and enjoyed the food! Please do come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Intimate pre wedding meal”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The interior was quirky and very bohemian with its little corners and funky decor. Unfortunately it was very dark and we needed our phones to read the menus!!!!

The service was good but the food was overpriced and lukewarm ..... Three out of seven sent our meals back because they were lukewarm.....i had chilli squid, I didn't taste any chilli and felt it was over done. I complained about my spatchcock chicken or lack of it... It was all bone .... I've never seen a spatchcock chicken that resembled a sparrow.... I complained and the manager, who was very apologetic came over and said he would take 2 meals of the bill and remove the service charge!! Great but I left hungry!!!!

Would I go again, probably not!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracie_d_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob F, Public Relations Manager at Beach Blanket Babylon, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the feedback following your recent visit to BBB Notting Hill Tracie. We're very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the food and we have passed on your feedback to the relevant manager for review. We hope that you would consider trying BBB again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beach Blanket Babylon also viewed

 
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Beach Blanket Babylon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing