We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite London restaurant”
Review of Al Hamra

Al Hamra
Reserve with OpenTable
Al Hamra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,011 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favourite London restaurant”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is the best Lebanese restaurant in London. Great food, courteous and efficient service, and one of the best locations in London. Outside tables complete the pleasure of visiting this lovely restaurant in the summer-time. I have been visiting it for over 30 years and it has never disappointed. It is still a great tribute to Alex, it's recently retired owner/manager.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    106
    28
    28
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
141 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good Lebanese in London, not inexpensive”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Shepherd Market is a nice area where some nice restaurants are located. Among them, Al Hamra, a nice Lebanese cuisine one, more elegant (and also more expensive) than an average Lebanese place. Food ok, especially the starters and nice Lebanese wine. As I said, a little bit on the expenmsive side, but the food and the ambience are worth what you pay.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GIOPIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One star is too good”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Wish we hadn't walked through the door .london has so many excellent restaurants don't waste your time and money here . " greeted" by a grumpy , scary waiter who grunted at us . Presented with a plate of lettuce and carrot , not chopped ,very odd .ordered selection of starters to share ,they were really poor . I had snapper which was in edible it was fried dried out and full of bones . We were never asked if the food was ok. They knew I had left the entire meal but didn't even ask why . The other diners managed to eat the chicken and lamb but we're not impressed . This disastrous meal cost over £220 for four of us ,avoid. I can usually find something good in everything, but alas not in this case

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotteofcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good prices (?)”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our whole experience at this restaurant was good. We were well taken care of, the food was tasty and well presented and the wine very drinkable. The overall price was quite a lot higher than I would have expected, but considering the quality, it was OK.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lebanese wine - try it!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Friends had eaten at this restraunt before, and were impressed. They suggested it as a good place for us all to meet up. It is well situated in Shepherd Market, which is a very lively spot, with several pubs and eateries. The restaurant was very busy, yet the service was good. The staff were extremely helpful in recommending dishes. You are not rushed at all, and we had the table for as long as we wanted. There were several people celebrating birthdays, complete with balloons, cake and indoor fireworks!

It is not a cheap place to eat, (our meals worked out at £100 per couple) but the overall experience is worth it, and the portions are generous.

We tried the Lebanese white wine, which was dry and nicely chilled.

Will definately eat there again.,

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fitzhamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Hamra also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Al Hamra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing