We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a nice cocktail!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hakkasan Hanway Place Restaurant

Hakkasan Hanway Place Restaurant
Ranked #309 of 22,225 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$48 - US$192
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Fitzrovia
Description: Hakkasan Hanway Place is the original Hakkasan restaurant. This Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant designed by Christian Liaigre has recreated the luxurious glamour of the past by combining Chinese history, tradition and architecture. Wooden lattice screens carved out of dark English oak invite discerning guests for a unique dining experience with contemporary cuisine from Chef Tong Chee Hwee. The menu has a strong Chinese ethnic identity with an ethos of Cantonese cooking that will be informed by a progressive approach, underpinned by authenticity rather than traditionalism. Hakkasan Hanway Place has launched Dim Sum Sundays, a weekly lunch event hosted by resident lounge DJs, available every Sunday from 12:00 until 17:45.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect for a nice cocktail!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

after looking up where was decent to drink in London, we found this place. a hidden gem tucked off the back streets just off Tottenham court road. a huge restaurant but with a massive cocktail bar. great atmosphere and great drinks. will definitely try the food next time but got the impression booking was essential. staff were also great!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,734
    761
    326
    141
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not bad but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Great cocktails, food ok but not much different yo what you can get for half the price in most Chinese restaurants, service was a slow but the place was so busy

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fieldsmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I had dinner with my girlfriend here in late november.
She is sensitive to gluten, and can't eat to much of it, but does not have celiac disease.

The experiense was ruined by the waitress who refused to serve a dish with some flour, after we told her that my girlfriend could not eat too much gluten.
She took the menu away in a hurry and came back with another menu for allergic, celiac disease etc. We tried explain that she could order from the normal menu but that was out of the question.
So.. I ordered something from the normal menu, which was really good.
My girlfriend got some food that was total tasteless. And also -very- overpriced.
The waitress also brought us a dish we didnt order, but thats OK.. It can happen.

All in all:
Good food but overpriced.
I give a "poor" grade on service when I expect alot more of a 1-star michelin restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jostein K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klepp, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, a bit pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

The dim sum platter we had for starter is one of the best food I have ever experienced. The sweet and sour pork with pomegrenate was also a dish to remember. We make sure we eat at Hakkasan each time we visit London, and I am sure we will visit it again next time!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tormod F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very pricey for not a lot! Charged for dish with chefs hair included!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We visited here last Friday in a party of 10. We ordered the £80/head set menu which was meant to be a taste of 7 dishes each and were served a dish per 4-6 people for some of the courses. At £320 per 4 people this represented a very poor value for money as we all ended up with just a small portion of each dish rather than what we paid for, the total bill was close to £1,200 so £120/head once 5-6 small bottles of beer each were included. Also found a short, straight black hair in the lamb shank which I complained about and I believe this was still charged on the bill. Won't be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abetts2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hakkasan Hanway Place Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Hakkasan Hanway Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing