We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant is a delight”
Review of Rules Restaurant

Rules Restaurant
Ranked #849 of 24,772 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$0 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Description: Established by Thomas Rule in 1798, Rules is a Covent Garden institution and the oldest restaurant in London. Tuxedoed waiters glide around the formal interior, decorated with antique sketches, where plush banquettes offer a discreet retreat from the main dining room. The whole-hearted menu of traditional British food specialises in classic game cookery, oysters, pies and puddings, featuring game birds, roe deer and Belted Galloway beef fresh from the establishment's own High Pennines estate. The wine list is a French-led affair, or there are native draught beers served in silver tankards.
Reviewed 26 April 2019

Fabulously old-school in the best possible way.
Rules has a matchless and timeless charm. Take it for what it is: London's oldest and most venerable restaurant. The building is packed with memorabilia from by-gone ages. The service is charming, kind and decent. The food is all you could hope for: rib of beef done to a tee, with trimmings to match. Rib-sticking desserts. Don't expect culinary innovation here - it's old favourites, done very nicely. The wine list is well chosen and not at all bad value (the Pouilly-Fume is fairly priced, and the Domaine Yann Chave Le Rouvre is excellent). Dinner at Rules is not cheap - but we had a wonderful evening and considered it good value.
If a meal is too big a stretch, go for a cocktail or two in their excellent cocktail bar, and breath in the atmosphere.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FoodKGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 447 of 4,740 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2019

We had the pleasure of experiencing the new Royal Cream Tea at Rules and it was amazing. Everything we tasted was delicious, the scones were the highlight, freshly baked with clotted cream & home-made jam!
Service from Natalie was second to none, absolutely faultless and to such a high standard really topped off such a perfect afternoon with my mum.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank EB1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 April 2019 via mobile

Such a stunning place and iconic

Fantastic food and service

We all had rib of beef and very good wine

The service made the night

Date of visit: April 2019
3  Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 April 2019 via mobile

Rules is my husband and son's favourite restaurant.
Six of us, visited earlier this month to celebrate my son's birthday.
As ever the food, and service did not disappoint .....
Our favourite dish..... Rib of beef!!!!
Definitely worth the calories.....

Date of visit: April 2019
2  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 April 2019 via mobile

Didn’t feel welcome with young children even though they catered for us with a high chair.

The garnish salad with my starter was a bit flat and poorly presented. The rib of beef roast dinner was cooked well and the side were tasty. The meat was of good quality and very tasty.

There was no atmosphere it was very quiet and there was no music, not a place we wanted to stay for dessert. We normally visit the DeLauney where the Roast is just as good and they are much more relaxed and child friendly there.

Was nice to visit this restaurant but wouldn’t hurry back.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Rules Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rules Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.