We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastically traditional.”
Review of Rules Restaurant

Rules Restaurant
Ranked #849 of 24,772 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$0 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Description: Established by Thomas Rule in 1798, Rules is a Covent Garden institution and the oldest restaurant in London. Tuxedoed waiters glide around the formal interior, decorated with antique sketches, where plush banquettes offer a discreet retreat from the main dining room. The whole-hearted menu of traditional British food specialises in classic game cookery, oysters, pies and puddings, featuring game birds, roe deer and Belted Galloway beef fresh from the establishment's own High Pennines estate. The wine list is a French-led affair, or there are native draught beers served in silver tankards.
Reviewed 10 September 2019 via mobile

I came here with a colleague from Singapore on the recommendation of my daughter.
She was so right!
Fantastic food and service.
Not cheap but we were not looking for cheap.
We had partridge and grouse and potted shrimps and quail to begin. All lovely.
Thank you.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank NigelinCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 319 of 4,740 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2019

Visited this restaurant once again last Saturday
As usual service was impeccable. We had the steak and kidney pie which is one of the restaurants specialty dishes and was cooked to perfection An exhaustive wine list to complement the food was offered and and the selection was great. As to be expected of a restaurant of this standard the decor and atmosphere are fantastic.
To start the meal I would recommend a cocktail in in the lounge upstairs which is very quiet and relaxing. Again, I had a Bloody Mary which is one of their signature cocktails which never fails to impress

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TERRYARMSTRONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2019 via mobile

Rules is the oldest restaurant in London so they claim and it is certainly a very classy establishment steeped in tradition, for example no beer served in the bar and Schweppes tonic only.

Very nice but a touch stuffy for me hence 4/5.

The food is excellent, I had the potted shrimp which is beautifully spiced and the lamb chop which was delicious.

My friend had the salmon starter and an amazing pie stuffed with steak and kidney.

Very nice service and surprisingly good value at £250 including drinks.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Antony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 September 2019

A return visit for a birthday celebration and delighted to see that their high standards have been maintained.
Drinks in the upstairs bar first and pleased to see they have extended the bar by forming an atrium area to the rear.
Classic British menu, oysters to start followed by partridge cooked to perfection. Eclectic wine list which sometimes requires a bulky wallet.
Service was professional, slick and engaging.
A very relaxing evening and one for a special occasion.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank TommyandTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 September 2019

Historic traditional british restaurant. Doesn't need any more reviews you get excellent food and service and a unique environment. Great cocktails and wine list as well.
Expensive but worth it for that special occasion.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PavlosEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Rules Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rules Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.