We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (797)
Filter reviews
797 results
Traveller rating
284
319
117
40
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
319
117
40
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed dorm oxford street mixed dorm internet room great location hair straighteners female dorm top bunk tottenham court bring earplugs person room power outlets shared bathroom common areas lounge area piccadilly circus nice stay
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 797 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2017

This was the best hostel I stayed in! The location is great: in the heart of Soho, a lot of restaurants and coffees, a Tesco across the street, Oxford St. nearby, buses and tube stations very near. Theaters at a walking distance. Yu can go walking to Picadilly Circus, Leicester Square, Oxford Street... The rooms are very good, clean and well conserved, and the breakfast is honest. There's a "Pumper Parlor", a room with hair blowers, mirrors and chairs for you to have your do at the morning without waking up everyone at your room.

But the best thing here is the staff. They are all very well trained, polite and accomodating! Thumbs up to Erik that helped me with the taxi to airport and Duarte, who show me all around the hostel!

Room tip: Para as minas: tem quartos só para mulheres com banheiro dentro do quarto.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoHostel_London, General Manager at SoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you for writing a review about your time at SoHostel, we are very pleased to hear you had a great time at the hostel and in London. The Staff are the most important part of the hostel, we're pleased you noticed the dedication and commitment they provide. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon. SoHostel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

First of all, when you search for a hostel then you have to expect what comes with hostel. So here is the important parts:

Staff : 5/5
Price: 5/5 (yes it's a little expensive but worth it)
Location: 7/5 (yes i know.. it's amazing!)
Shower : 5/5
Food : I didn't eat but there was always food available
Sleep: At the moment there's construction going on next door but with ear plugs it's not so bad. They dont start till 9+ so it worked as a good way to get me out of bed and start my London-day.

Basically i had a lovely time. The bunk beds are a little low but i didnt spend much time sitting down in it. Over all, i loved it and would go there again.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dushku87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoHostel_London, General Manager at SoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Thank you very much for such an enthusiastic and positive review, your comments are welcomed and appreciated at SoHostel, we are very pleased to get your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again. SoHostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

I booked a private room. It was really small, but i've been there just for sleeping at night, so it was okay. The bathrooms weren't so clean, but they have a good shower. The staff is not friendly at all. Facilities were good, they have a nice bar downstairs where you can have breakfast/drinks/etc. The location is great, just three streets away from Tottenham Court Road Station and one street away from Oxford Street, where you can find lots of stores and things to do. Don't get scared by seeing a big construction right in the same street as the hostel, i didn't hear any sound coming from it.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federico G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoHostel_London, General Manager at SoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate all the feedback we get from guests and hope you had a wonderful stay at SoHostel and in London. Hope to see you again soon. SoHostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Hostels are rough and everyone knows that - you sacrifice commodity for a low fare and that's okay. However, something that's completely unjustified by a low price is having rude and careless staff with a backwards orientation of customer service - seriously, they don't speak customer service here, which is just unforgivable in this time and age.

First of all, I arrived with a group of 4 (one elderly) and we were all carrying very heavy luggage. The lady who checked us in also took us to our room and told us about the lift but said it didn't really go to where our rooms were and that we must take the stairs to the second floor (3 stories). We believed her, of course. The stairs were steep and it was difficult to take everything upstairs on our own. The lady didn't bother to call for some help until we got to the last floor, which is when she ran into one of the guys working there who helped us. We were exhausted. A couple of hours later we went down and bumped into the elevator by mistake (the hostel is a labyrinth with an incomprehensible color coding system), we took it and guess what? It does stop right on the second floor. Go figure.

That same day, we went out and returned to the hostel with some food. We had a bag of thrash and besides a tiny little bin we had in the room, we could not locate any larger bins in the hostel. We also had a some leftovers we wanted to heat up, so we made our way to the cantine/cafeteria and spoke to the "supervisor" there who told us in a rude and careless way: 1. There are no microwaves for guests. 2. They can't heat our food in their microwaves because it could contaminate them (seriously, that's what he said), and 3. The hostel can't take our thrash because they'd have to sort recyclables and take them to their containers which is a few blocks away and that we have to do it ourselves.
He might've had a point in some of these things, however, leaving behind the poor management of this business (no microwaves for guests? No thrash cans!?) it was all about the way he said everything and his careless attitude to our problem. He even looked glad he sent us off. What kind of supervisor is this?

Later that night, we went to bed around 11pm and there was a large group of teenagers who were staying in adjacent rooms (going back to the lady who checked us in... for crying out loud, one does not need to be and scientist). They were making so much noise it felt like our room was in the middle of a warzone - yelling, door banging and slamming, banging on walls, more yelling and slamming, NON-STOP.
We talked to them and politely asked to turn it down as we were trying to get some rest since we flew that day into the country and had no sleep in a 15hr flight, and requested some consideration in the dorm area. That didn't change anything whatsoever. After a few minutes we went down to the reception to place a complaint and they radio'd someone, they winked at me and said they'll take care of it. We went back upstairs and after 30-45 minutes the situation had not changed a bit.
We had to go back to the receiption to talk to the staff again and since we were already irritated they finally heard us and sent someone up. After another 15-20mins, the guy showed up and we finally had peace. We went to bed at 2am, and we had to wake up at 5am to go to a tour feeling like a truck ran us over.

All this happened on day 1. On the second day we absolutely did not want to go back to this place and tried to stay away from it as much as we could. When we checked out, I placed another complaint on the front desk and one person who seemed to be the only customer orientated person gave us complimentary breakfast for our troubles - when we got to the cantine, this kitchen supervisor refused to believe his front desk colleague and personally went to have a word with the front desk manager. We were denied English breakfast because it costs £1 than the "buffet" breakfast.

I could not recommend this hostel any less. The worst of the worst.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Hugo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoHostel_London, General Manager at SoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about SoHostel, we are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the services. We appreciate the time you have taken to feedback your opinions and we would like you to inform you that your comments are important to us and the satisfaction of our guests. We have a responsibility to ensure all our recyclables are sorted appropriately which is why we don't mix bags of rubbish, we also don't advertise guest kitchen facilities including microwaves unless there is medical need. We apologise for any inconvenience this has caused you during your stay and we hope you enjoyed your time in London. SoHostel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Stayed at the hostel for 3 nights in a private room - its a great vibrant place to stay and so central. Pretty quiet in the evenings, touch noisy in the morning but not annoyingly noisy - more lively noise with everyone bustling about. Staff are excellent, place is spotless and showers etc really good. Will without questrion stay here again.

Room tip: If you are looking for a private room - 209 is good.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoHostel_London, General Manager at SoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, we hope you had a great time London and we look forward to seeing you again. SoHostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews