We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveller rating
294
321
118
40
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
321
118
40
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed dorm oxford street mixed dorm internet room great location bring earplugs shared bathroom common areas lounge area piccadilly circus nice stay english breakfast nice breakfast your luggage enjoyed my stay central london full english
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 810 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We were 3 friends staying at SoHostel on 20th - 24th October 2017 (Friday to Tuesday). Booked a 4 persons dorm with ensuite bathroom.

Met with a friendly staff when we checked in and she showed us around the place.

Room:
Metal bunk beds with sockets and reading light for each bed. Good that we're able to just plug our USB charging ports. Room size was alright with just enough space to pack our big luggages.

Ensuite bathroom:
Spacious bathroom, but really cold after you shower when you need to dry yourself. Don't think there are heaters in the bathroom. Would be great if the bin was cleared more often, it was full on the 3rd night.
Only hassle is that if you need to dry your hair after shower, you'll have to go down to ground level to the Pamper room where the hairdryers are. No hair dryers in the ensuite toilet.
There are 2 other bathrooms and separate toilets on our level for sharing, so I think it's quite convenient. Otherwise, I think you can probably use the showers on other levels.

Noise:
Really really noisy on weekends. Very poor soundproofing and we could hear noises when others slam their doors all night. Not to mention there are lots of pubs around the area and noises continued till late.
That being said, we had better sleep on weekday nights where there weren't as much noise.

Location:
Good location, walkable distance to quite a few places (SoHo, Leicester Square, Covent Garden, Oxford Circus).

All in all, not a bad stay. Probably best to avoid weekends.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Nerrrrfya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoHostel_London, General Manager at SoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at SoHostel, we appreciate your feedback and the comments you've shared with us, we're pleased you had a great stay and we hope to see you again soon. SoHostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

First of all I rarely if ever give 1 star ratings but I feel very justified in doing so here after what happened today and pretty sure it's the first time ever that I have done so.

I booked a room here whilst in transit in Jordan waiting foe my flight to Heathrow. For some reason booking.com didn't ask for credit card details to confirm my booking (every other time I have used the site it has) so I refreshed and booked again. Next thing I know I am receiving notifications that I have booked twice. I hit the "make changes to your booking" button and sent an email away asking for clarification around the issue. Before receiving a reply back I received 2 notifications that my booking was not secure until I paid. I tried to do this but it wouldnt accept my visa travel card so I emailed again explaining. I received a very short email back from sohostel staff saying I need to contact booking.com direct to sort it out and I replied confused saying I thought I had done that because I just clicked the button on the site and if they would hold only one room for me since my payment didnt go through and the booking for either of them was not secured. I received no reply back and upon arrival around 4:30pm 23rd Oct, I was informed I needed to call booking.com or would be charged for both rooms. I was again confused since I received word back that the booking wasnt confirmed as I didnt secure it with my credit card details however after asking several times for how to contact them to do so I obliged and called them on my mobile even though I didn't feel it was necessary or made any since since the email said my booking was not secure. The voice over service was really hard to navigate and use and I wound up on hold. The ladies at the front desk then started requesting I pay for my room to speed things up even though I was on hold with them. I said I wanted to wait until I spoke with booking.com as I didn't want to give my card details over and potentially be charged twice. One lady behind the counter started saying something about being flexible with me as a favour and not charging me twice but I must speak with booking.com to cancel the room that wasnt even confirmed. The way the conversation headed I got really annoyed and questioned why didnt they send me these details as a response to my email and I could have sorted this out previously. I got some stupid manipulative answer that made no sense and was told the hostel would get charged for the booking if I didn't cancel it with booking.com. But as I told her many times the booking wasn't even secured. I decided to walk out and let them sort out both of the cancellations since they were being rude and unhelpful just to prove a point about their lack of customer service and bad attitudes.

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank JomJom2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoHostel_London, General Manager at SoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at SoHostel, although we appreciate your feedback and comments we can not tolerate any verbal abuse towards our staff.
We hope you resolved your differences with the booking agent where we feel your queries should have been directed. Unfortunately you won't receive any complimentary from SoHostel and we hope you found somewhere to enjoy your time in London. SoHostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

The staff is very nice and helpful. Rooms were very clean, comfortable and spacious. The vibe was always so relaxed at any time of day. It's in a great location - very close to everything you could want in the downtown London area. No washrooms in the room though, but not a deal breaker.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivanaurrutia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoHostel_London, General Manager at SoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at SoHostel, we really appreciate the feedback and comments you've shared with us and very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope your visit to London was memorable and we see you again soon. SoHostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Loved this hostel, everything about it was done correctly. Nice rooms, great staff, excellent location, good price! What more could you ask for in central London

Well done SoHostel, great example of how Hostels should be

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julieb2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoHostel_London, General Manager at SoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at SoHostel, we really appreciate your comments and feedback, thank you for taking the time to share this review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. SoHostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Best hostel i've ever been in. Staff people are very nice and the whole place is very comfortable and clean. The location is also perfect. They have very nice meals as well and it costs cheeper than all the places around. Will totally stay there next time i'm in London.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Marina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoHostel_London, General Manager at SoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at SoHostel, we really appreciate your feedback and comments. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the hospitality of our staff. We very much look forward to your next visit and stay with us soon. SoHostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews