We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they know fish for sure and sauces are good”
Review of Hook

Hook
Ranked #997 of 24,329 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Camden
Description: Variety of fish 'n' chips and gourmet dipping sauces in a simple, hip space with communal tables.
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Always lovely going here, the fish is fresh and crispy. The potatoes are too fat for my liking, if you like fat wedges instead of skinny fries they this may not be the one for you.

Staff are so nice always but outside of one waiter the waitresses always seem to change every week I go. I can't understand why that is?

The tables and chairs could be improved as they are somewhat small for my large frame.

Also the presentation in the box makes it hard to cut the fish sometimes...

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Nuur2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 210 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2016

A great small place (with a large reputation). A few blocks from busy Camden High Street this is a great place to hide away and enjoy their quality fish and chips. Regardless the type - traditional, carribbean, piri-piri they are all good. The seaweed/salt combo for the chips is an extra treat.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hook, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Hey Joseph S,

Thank you so much for your kind words on your recent visit!

We love to hear when people enjoy eating our food just as much as we enjoy making it.

Hope to see you again soon,

Team Hook Camden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We received fantastic service and the food was excellent, definitely the best fish and chips we had for some time and resonable prices.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sandjholidayswatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hook, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Hey sandjholidayswatford,

Thank you so much for your kind words on your recent visit!

We love to hear when people enjoy eating our food just as much as we enjoy making it.

Hope to see you again soon,

Team Hook Camden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Went here last night and the food tasted lovely! We were starving, so we had the prawns, calamari and fish and chips. The waitress was really nice. Wine was delicious. Big fan last night. Today however....my boyfriend and I are in a spot of bother, especially because we only have 1 bathroom :-(

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank BeckyBirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hook, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Hey BeckyBirch,

We're really sorry to hear you felt unwell after your recent visit to our Camden restaurants.

We adhere to the absolute highest levels of food hygiene, and our fish is served within 24 hours from catch to plate, to ensure the absolute highest levels of freshness.

We'll be looking further in to what happened on that day, and I hope you're able to visit us again in the near future so you can enjoy our food once more.

All the best,

Hook Camden Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

The freshly made fish & chips (Caribbean Calypso Panko) were excellent and very tasty. Also try the small selection of artisanal beers. Worth a stop when you're in Camden.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hook, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Hey Tom V,

Thank you so much for your kind words on your recent visit!

We love to hear when people enjoy eating our food just as much as we enjoy making it.

Hope to see you again soon,

Team Hook Camden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hook also viewed

 

Been to Hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.