We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back”

Bleeding Heart Restaurant
Ranked #460 of 23,351 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Holborn
Cross street: Hatton Garden
Transit: Farrington tube and train station. Chancery Lane tube station.
Description: Described by Square Meal as "arguably the finest French restaurant in the City", the Bleeding Heart Restaurant offers modern French food, impeccable service, an award-winning "encyclopaedic" wine list and above all a uniquely welcoming ambiance in a wonderfully historic setting. The perfect Venue for a business lunch or dinner, the warm, wood-panelled Restaurant is also an ideal setting for a romantic "diner a deux": indeed it was voted by "The Times" as the City's most romantic restaurant.
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have eaten at the Bleeding Heart before and had enjoyed it very much. It was rather disappointing therefore to have a rather lacklustre meal with tough lamb. Not worth the rather exuberant prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pm5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BleedingHeartLondon, General Manager at Bleeding Heart Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are very sorry to read that your meal did not meet your expectation. Your valuable feedback and time is important to us, and we would very like to have some additional information as to what went wrong, so we can get back to you. Could you please email us on benoit@bleedingheart.co.uk. Your custom is very much appreciated and we do not want to loose you as a guest. We look forward to hearing from you, kind regards. The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 360 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife and I had dinner in the restaurant with my son and his friend, I have eaten in the Don a sister place in the City and also here previously and was slightly nervous about my return. On arriving I established that my previous visit had been to the brasserie as opposed to the main restaurant. The brasseries was ok but the main restaurant was fabulous for traditional french type cooking with good portions in a great atmosphere. Wonderful and good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pasarell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BleedingHeartLondon, Manager at Bleeding Heart Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you so much for your comments and for your loyalty to the Bleeding Heart Group.
We are so pleased that your dinner was up to your expectations and you had a wonderful time.
We will make sure that our chef, and staff will be aware of your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,
With best wishes,
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The underground restaurant never fails to please...... excellent menu & wine list ............................................................

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lochfreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BleedingHeartLondon, General Manager at Bleeding Heart Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Merci, the team is delighted to know and so looking forward to welcoming you back soon. A bientot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Had lunch with a friend visiting from Australia. The restaurant is in an interesting part of London, and is a good place for lunch. Staff were really friendly, and the service was good. Starters were streak tartare and fois gras and both were delicious. Main was lobster risotto and cote de boeuf. Both were very good. The finale was the cheese board and several Sandeman ports to wash down the selections. We let the sommelier choose the wine which went incredibly well with both meat and lobster.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rockdrive22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Hidden away in a court one needs to know how to get here. I joined a businessdinner with some 40 guest and while chatting and discussing the staff served a fine diner with lovely flavour combinations, good way and with pleasant service and attention. The chicken (from France they told us) is one to try because it has a twisted combination with Italian style risotto. No complaints about the wines. Worth visiting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaxHubner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bleeding Heart Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bleeding Heart Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing