We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overated pseudo indian cuisine with idiot staff.”
Review of Cinnamon Club

Cinnamon Club
Ranked #622 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$49 - US$198
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Westminster
Transit: Westminster and St. James's Park tube stations are both within walking distance.
Description: Challenging the notion that Indian cuisine can only be created using age-old recipes and ideas, The Cinnamon Club demonstrates how evolution and adaptation can create a new chapter in gourmet excellence. Housed in the Grade II listed former Westminster Library, a stone’s throw from London’s Westminster Abbey, The Cinnamon Club’s neo-colonial feel fits perfectly with its distinctive style of Indian haute cuisine.
CT
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Overated pseudo indian cuisine with idiot staff.”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I only choose this restaurant as it was near the equally unimpressive Hilton Doubltree where I was staying.

What a ghastly choice. First of all there was a scrum around the reception desk and after repeating my name three times and digging out the confirmation of our reservation we were finally shown to a table.

This place used to be a library. And it shows. The large room of tables was noisy and reminiscent of what a dining room in an English hotel might have looked like in the '30's. Cavenous and noisy.

We were given menus and then ignored. Finally managed to order a drink - the SMALLEST meanest serving of white wine I've ever seen. Finally managed to order some food; and we went (three of us) with the special Diwali menu. The service was non-existent. The food was unimpressive - just don't understand the hype. I cook better indian food at home.

I'd never ever return to this restaurant. It's over-priced, over-rated and a huge disappointment for the princely sum of two hundred pounds.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MisterOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamonkitchen, executive assistant to CEO at Cinnamon Club, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Hello-

I am very sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion and would like the chance to discuss with you further.

Can you kindly write us at info@cinnamonclub.com to discuss further? We hope to hear from you soon.


Many thanks,
Shanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    928
    560
    251
    141
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
solihull
Level Contributor
216 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Faultless in every respect!”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

My son and I had a memorable lunch yesterday and cannot understand any negative comments judging by our food and the way were treated. The food was amazing, excellent wines, wonderful setting and atmosphere. May be pricey but there is a very true maxim, you get what you pay for! We shall return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamonkitchen, executive assistant to CEO at Cinnamon Club, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Hi David,

Thank you for the great review, and we are delighted that you and your son had such a memorable lunch with us!

Please do let us know when you dine with us next, as we would love to say hello.

Kind regards,
Shanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
381 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,329 helpful votes
“Spectacular food and setting.”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Lots of superlatives in many of the reviews we read before booking. We had read in many places that this was one of the best half dozen curry houses in the capital. As enthusiasts with a healthy cynical streak we were prepared to be disappointed but we were not. With a very slight wait or two (which is a management rather than food problem) we had no gripes at all. Every part of every course was just right. The wine guy made a couple of suggestions for each course and all went very well. We will come back but I doubt we could justify the cost more than two or three times a year..

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cr0wM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamonkitchen, executive assistant to CEO at Cinnamon Club, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Hello-

Thank you for the glowing review, and we are thrilled to hear that you had a lovely dining experience!

I will pass on you warm comments to Fabio, our sommelier, and the entire team.

We often run some great specials so do sign up for our newsletter to keep in touch with the latest news!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cinnamon Club in the near future.

Kind regards,
Shanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“great food rubbish service sorry !!”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

great food rubbish service sorry !! no one seemed to no what they were doing took 20 mins to order then 30 mins to get a dessert menu and 20 mins to get the bill ridiculous!!!
food was very good and cooked well but i do feel the service needs to sort its self out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rayofsunSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamonkitchen, executive assistant to CEO at Cinnamon Club, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. While I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, I am sorry to find out that we did not live up to our reputation with service.

We would like the chance to discuss with you further, if possible.

Can you kindly write us at: info@cinnamonclub.com to discuss?

Warmest regards,
Shanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Good meal ruined: bungling service and no apology”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Three of us for an early evening early dinner. Great food - no question about it. Then a waiter tips an incoming after-dinner creamy cocktail over two of us and it all goes South

(a) he is left entirely to handle it on his own, which he did as best he could bringing napkins and soda water. But where was the Maitre D? A million miles away; that's where he was; no involvement, no apology, no nothing.
(b) the offending cocktail, together with its partner and the two of the following round were charged in full on the bill. That may be good business but its poor, poor customer service.

Those cocktails acquired a bitter taste and when I dine again round here - and it's my local office 'patch', it won;t be at this aloof, tight-fisted establishment.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheOldTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamonkitchen, executive assistant to CEO at Cinnamon Club, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, though I am sorry to hear that your dining experience was not a positive one.

We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you, if possible.

Can you kindly write us at: info@cinnamonclub.com?

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Shanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cinnamon Club also viewed

 

Been to Cinnamon Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing