We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We absolutely loved it!”
Review of City Barge

City Barge
Reserve with OpenTable
City Barge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #953 of 25,458 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$13 - US$38
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Following an extensive refurbishment this historic 14th century public house is due to open in late May. The City Barge will be the perfect Thames side pub featuring a stunning dining room and bar, large open kitchen, all overlooking the river. The interior will retain much of the original architectural detail and period fixtures and fittings as well as three open fires. The menu will focus on seasonal British ingredients as well as hand pulled local ales and ciders. The City Barge will be open daily from midday for lunch and from 10am at weekends for breakfast and brunch
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We went to the City Barge for a chilled family lunch and could not fault it!
The location is fabulous right on the river and we had a gorgeous table with a view.
The service was wonderful and the food superb.
We had the Saganaki cheese with apricots which was divine, then the crispy duck & water melon salad which was so delicious I could have licked the plate and then the peach melba & meringue fool. Just talking about it I want it all again :)
And to top it all fantastic value for money at about £35 a head which included cocktails to start, wine and coffee with pudding!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JaneFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, General Manager at City Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Hi JaneFK, thank you for your positive feedback, it is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their visit. I have passed on your comments to the team who are delighted. Thank you again, we do hope to see you soon.

Best wishes

Rob Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Beautiful bar with generous seating inside and at the front and rear on the river.

Staff were amazing and the drink selection is outstanding

Thank dacoyle1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, General Manager at City Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Hi dacoyle1986, thank you for your 5 star review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes

Rob Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We've been here several times in the last few months, never had less than an excellent experience. We had: vegetarian cannelloni, blackened cod, steak bavette, and the chicken/bacon/avocado salad. All were really good. The staff are quick, cheerful, and helpful. And the Barge has a good range of beers, ciders and wines. This is a local riverside gastropub operating at a really high level, and it's a genuine delight.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SRJB_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, General Manager at City Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Hi SRJB_London, thank you for your positive feedback, we take pride in delivering the best City Barge experience everytime. We have passed on your comments to the team who are delighted that their hard work is appreciated.

Best wishes

Rob Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We had our birthday celebrations at the City Barge this weekend in their function room upstairs overlooking the river. It was perfect - a bright sunny day watching the river go down. The arrangements leading up to the event was smooth and the team were so accommodating. It was joy to deal with Rob the General Manager who facilitated everything we asked for. Our guests were impressed by the venue and enjoyed the service offered with someone constantly on hand to ensure guests had drinks and the snacks we organised.
We maintain their chips are the best ever!
Thank You City Barge for making our gathering so seamless and go so smoothly!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 190sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, General Manager at City Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Hi 190sal, thank you for delightful feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us and even more glad to hear that your guests were impressed by our venue. We hope you choose The City Barge again for future occasions.

Best wishes

Rob Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely pub right on the river. We had an amazing bottomless brunch served by Poppy who was wonderful and made our brunch extra special. The bottomless brunch deal is great value and the service is exceptional.

Thank Lib123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, General Manager at City Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Hi Lib123, thank you, we appreciate your lovely review and are delighted to read that you received such a great service from Poppy. Hope to see youu again in the future.

Best wishes

Rob Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Barge also viewed

 
Kew, Richmond
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to City Barge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing