We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmospher”
Review of The Gay Hussar - CLOSED

The Gay Hussar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Soho
Description: So much has been said about Soho’s Gay Hussar, which has long been a favourite haunt of politicos and writers, that you don’t really go here for the food but rather for the experience. Having said that, the Hungarian peasant dishes are simple but beautifully prepared and Gay Hussar can’t fail to charm even the pickiest diner.
Reviewed 5 March 2018

This is an authentic place. The wild cherry soup has to be tried...the goulash is superb. It is/was a haunt of senior Labour politicians. For a small central London restaurant it serves generous portions at reasonable prices and the service is attentive.

Thank TheArtLark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at The Gay Hussar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear TheArtLark,

Than you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Gay Hussar and we are delighted you enjoyed the authenticity and atmosphere of our cosy restaurant. We are pleased you loved two of our signature dishes and have passed your kind comments onto the chef.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gay Hussar in the near future.

Best Wishes,
The Gay Hussar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

Superb Hungarian restaurant. Extensive menu and fabulous food. Nice, relaxed traditional-style with excellent service. A real find. Great location for theatres. Highly recommend.

Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at The Gay Hussar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Tony B,

Thank you for your visit to The Gay Hussar and for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our restaurant.
We are pleased you found the selection of dishes on our menu plentiful and delicious.
We have passed your kind words regarding the food and service onto the team, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Gay Hussar to enjoy more of our wonderful food and hospitality in the near future.

Best Wishes,

The Gay Hussar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

The warmest of welcomes, given with sincerity, got our visit off to a very good start. Excellent value food coupled with excellent service. Atmospheric surroundings. You’ll struggle to find better in central London.

Thank TasteGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at The Gay Hussar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear TasteGnome,

Thank you for visiting the Gay Hussar and we are pleased you received the same welcome we aim to give to all of our guests. We are delighted you found our food to be of great value and and that the service was to match and we shared your kind words amongst the team.
We look forward to giving you a warm welcome back to The Gay Hussar soon.

Best Wishes,

The Gay Hussar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

We booked for 1800h but arrived late and just managed to get a table. Our Lithuanian waiter was charming and efficient. We took the 3 course Early Evening offer ( 17.95 to include a glass of wine). The Bean soup starter was cracking and the stuffed cabbage main with bacon and sauerkraut was filling and excellent too. Desserts were simple but very tasty. Could not fault it for the money!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at The Gay Hussar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Tim L,

Thank you for visiting the Gay Hussar for a pre - theatre dinner and we are delighted you took advantage of our early evening offer. We are pleased you found the food to be of great quality and excellent value for money and we have passed your kind comments on to the kitchen and service teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gay Hussar soon to sample many of our other delicious dishes!

Best Wishes,
The Gay Hussar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

I'd made a reservation through a third party booking site which hadn't been communicated to the team at this restaurant, so when we walked in they weren't expecting us and we were the first diners of the evening. That didn't matter - we were welcomed, seated and received awesome service.

Between us, we had baked camembert and the leek and potato soup to start, followed by chicken schnitzel and beef goulash for mains. They were all delicious, especially the soup. It was incredible. I've had Hungarian wine before and know it's really good but if you haven't, please try it while you're there!

All of the staff were very friendly and actually served us, rather than just putting food on the table. It properly felt like a family restaurant hidden away somewhere rather than in the heart of London.

I highly recommend this place. Perfect for pre-theatre as well!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gay Hussar also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing