We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special”
Review of Geales

Geales
Ranked #3,809 of 22,659 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$1 - US$28
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Kensington and Hyde Park
Description: Geales has been London's most loved neighbourhood fish restaurant for over 70 years. Since 1939 this reputable restaurant has been a firm favorite with devoted locals and celebrities' alike. Geales offers a menu that retains the great British chip shop mentality... No frills, just fresh fish and fabulous service. The updated historic site provides a rustic yet chic local diner with a relaxed, nostalgic nod to the brand heritage.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

The service is quite poor. The food it's ok, but nothing special...
The restaurant design is boring and look a bit dirty. In the end I won't suggest this place to anyone.

Helpful?
2 Thank AlexXxUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    109
    56
    29
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A deep-fried night out.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We've been in London for a week and enjoyed some stunning dining experiences. Sadly, Geales was not one of them. We made a reservation and arrived a the same time as a couple who had not. They were given a window table whilst we were bustled into a corner, next to a (very pleasant, admittedly) family group. When we registered our concern the maitre d' was arrogant and dismissive. The whitebait was tasteless and overbattered, and over-fried. My fish cake with a curry sauce was tasty, and perfectly seasoned. The "famous" fish pie was ok, a lot of mashed potato, but ok. Our evening was made more enjoyable by our waiter, a very witty Greek guy, and by meeting interesting fellow diners, but I wouldn't rush back to Geales. Mi dispiace.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellerholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive Mistake Is Right”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We de-toured to Notting-hill during our trip in London and stumbled upon this restaurant. It's charming patio persuaded my boyfriend and I to give it a chance. It all looked promising from the beginning. We received our drinks right away as well as our oysters, which were really tasty.

The server was a little awkward in that she seemed quite flustered with not many people to serve (I assumed she was new).The couple besides us was not getting service on the other hand, and were quite disgruntled as they were there at the same time we were and received no attention. They got up and left.

I heard a couple of remarks from the other tables around us saying "the service is disastrous but the food is at least good." We had no reason to complain. The other table besides us was saying this was the spot to eat "back in the day."

We received our main courses and both were such a fail; it was laughable. We shared one of the seafood plates for two. I eat everything and anything, but this was disgusting. Everything was immensely salty, and doused obnoxiously in mayo... It was hard to stomach. This weird tempura attempt with crab was super awful. Deep fried shell paired with what tasted to be pure fish sauce with no other ingredients. There was nothing palatable on the plate - no room for a breather.. It was all salty, horrible or deep fried.

But hey, the oysters were good?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ode to fish”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Fish and Chips, my favourite meal.
So went to Geales - Notting Hill.
Rubbish food and service poor
Won't go there, anymore.

Anon

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinTune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Expensive mistake”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We went for dinner based on a recommendation. The decor was fine but the restaurant was hot and smelled of cooking fat. The windows do not open and the aircon was poor.

The fish and chip meals do not taste as good as they look. The large batter exterior hides a small piece of fish.

The lobster spaghetti was served in a deep casserole plonked straight on the table. The small portion at the bottom of the pot was too peppery. Usually this dish has a half lobster on the side with smaller bits of lobster in the spaghetti. This version had only small bits in the spaghetti.

The service was cheerful but sloppy. Service is added at 12.5%.

Overall disappointing and far too expensive for what you get. Even a small portion of frozen peas costs £3.75.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crystalcatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Geales also viewed

 

Been to Geales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing