We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lobster banquet was just fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gerrards Corner

Gerrards Corner
Ranked #4,817 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Soho
Scotland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Lobster banquet was just fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

My companion for this visit is a seafood junkie, so we hit the jackpot by picking this restaurant after wandering through Chinatown.

The first page in the menu was a set seafood banquet for two people for £26.50 per head.

Prawn Crackers, Hot and sour seafood soup, lettuce seafood wraps, a whole lobster with ginger, scallops in black bean sauce, king prawns in sweet chilli, mixed vegetables and egg fried rice. It was absolutely superb and just what we had in mind when we headed into Chinatown.

House wine was £13 per bottle and complemented the seafood perfectly.

10% service charge was added to the bill, which I didn't object to at all, as the service had been friendly and efficient (and they didn't try to get a tip as well!).

There was a lovely atmosphere, and a couple of large parties celebrating teenage birthdays clearly having a good time.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDootsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    226
    102
    60
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,052 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 595 helpful votes
“Busy Chinese restaurant with average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

I went to this restaurant at lunchtime today.It was already busy when i went in at 12.45pm and there was a long queue when i came out 45minutes later.I had 3 dim sum.They were pork and crabmeat dumpling,duck spring rolls and chicken and sausage with rice.all were fairly average dishes.I thought the price including tea and service would come to around ten pounds.It actually came to 11.80.Even then they tried to get me to leave a gratuity on the card machine.Slightly more expensive than other dim sum restaurants and nowhere near the best.So if you are in Chinatown i wouldnt recommend this restaurant particularly.Try The Lido or New World for Dim Sum

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wingate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food great for large parties”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

Ate a few weeks ago with a group of friends they were very accommodating as 10 of us just turned up! We ordered a set menu and it was very nice indeed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicechap-jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I'll Be Back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

The Lobster menu was incredible with loads of food for a very reasonable price. Excellent white wine topped it off and would definitely return as it was also an nice area to wander around and see the different restaurants and shops

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The best Chinese I have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

If you love chinese food you would love this - what a fantastic meal and a great price.

Try the softshell crab

Love it so much I am coming to London for my birthday to come here

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephaniedawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gerrards Corner also viewed

 

Been to Gerrards Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing