We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find!”

Laughing Gravy Bar & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Laughing Gravy Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #153 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$49
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tucked away between offices and shops on Blackfriars Road, The Laughing Gravy restaurant is one of the capital���s best kept secrets. Laid back and informal, The Laughing Gravy offers a comfortable setting and friendly, efficient service ��� a must in the demanding local market. So settle in and prepare to enjoy the very best seasonal, fresh food featuring some of Britain���s best known and well loved specialties. Head chef Michael Facey, is known for his dedication to great ingredients and has worked alongside chefs such as John Torode and Mark Hix. Facey has carefully sourced the finest produce from the highest quality suppliers for The Laughing Gravy menu, even taking herbs and vegetables straight from the next door community garden.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

So glad a friend recommended this! Interesting menu with a good selection of wines. All 4 of us tried different choices and without fail enthused about the appearance as well as the taste of all the dishes. The wine chosen was very enjoyable, even though from the lower end of the list. What sets this apart is not only a nice layout -so that you can keep your conversation to yourself and not hear everybody else- but the friendly and quietly efficient service.
Great value for money, we will be going back regularly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,001
    403
    117
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We booked at the last minute and we’re wonderfully surprised. Great atmosphere, the waiter was very attentive and explained the menu exceptionally well. My husband had the asparagus and then superfood salad. I had the chicken liver and fettuccine. Cooked to perfection! We were so impressed with this little gem. Definitely worth the extra minute walk away from Southwark tube. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed a love after dinner drink at the bar with a charming bartender who was not too overly friendly. We are definitely coming back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Excellent Food.........Let down by Indifferent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

We booked on the same day last minute spur of the moment type thing, we were booked in for 12,30 , when we arrived there was no one in the restaurant a bit odd , but someone appeared as if by magic and took us to our table , we were offered drinks and given menus , the drinks took for ever , well it seemed like it.
Anyway we gave our orders and enjoyed our drinks , the food came our first courses were just superb the attention to detail was amazing .
we had 3 courses were there for 2hours all very relaxed , sadly the service was very off the mark for the type of restaurant they are from the food side and the prices to match it was a shame it was so indifferent to our needs especially as there were only 4 tables in for lunch, not once were we offered anymore drinks or water or bread or olives, we were not asked if everything was ok at any time. My friend asked for advise on the main course and pudding and was met with a blank response with the waiter just reading off the menu as any one could have done.
We had to ask for our bill , as did two over tables , this after 2 hours and £10 on our parking meter!!!!!
When we left we were not asked if we had had a good visit etc etc infract we were not spoken to at all , nor did they when a group of ladies left just before us.
We get better service at our local HARVESTER...................!!!!!!!!!!
And all this with a 12% service charge , i would have cancelled this but i just thought of the chefs.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ButlerInService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaughingGravyLondon, Owner at Laughing Gravy Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Hi,

I wanted to take the time to write to thank you for your review and taking the time to give us the feedback. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your food so much with us.

I am just really sorry you were let down by the service. As you can see from our other TripAdvisor reviews, we work really hard to exceed service levels and offer a genuinely personable and engaging service from all our staff.

I will make sure that this is dealt with immediately.

Many thanks

Jon Wise (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best dining experience I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Since eating at the Laughing Gravy for the second time I have been compelled to tell everyone I meet how good it is! The food, the service, the atmosphere - it's all so wonderful. The first time I visited was for their Sunday dinner, which was exquisite. And my most recent trip was on Saturday night for a friend's birthday, and we all agreed that it was the best get-together we've ever had.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food, relaxed but efficient service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Would be a great local restaurant, wish I lived nearer. Went for dinner, but looked like a nice place to pop in for brunch / lunch. Would definitely be a regular visitor if I lived closer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laughing Gravy Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Laughing Gravy Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing