We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dinning at its best”
Review of Launceston Place

Launceston Place
Ranked #57 of 22,671 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$88
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
Description: Nestled in the quaint residential streets of Kensington, Launceston Place is an award winning hidden gem. Passionate about using the best seasonal produce chef patron Raphael Francois and his team create a menu using simple and luxury ingredients alike. The restaurant has received 2 AA Rosettes in 2017, while the wine list has won Tatler Best Wine List Award, the Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine and Notable Wine List 2013 and 2014 by the AA guide. Open for lunch Wednesday to Sunday and dinner all week (except Monday) Launceston Place attracts a loyal local following, as well as being a fantastic destination for visitors to this charming London neighbourhood.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine dinning at its best”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Fine dinning at its best
A hidden gem tucked away in a quiet London street
Service was fantastic
Food was awesome two hours just flew by no pressure just totally chilled out
Thank you for a fantastic lunch!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Youngie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo I, Manager at Launceston Place, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Youngie1,

we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your recent lunch with us.

We hope next time you will have time to try our tasting menu, an even better way of making some time fly by while savouring some of the best dishes on our menu.

Many thanks again for your kind review
Best regards
Matteo Inzaina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    122
    45
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excelent!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Great service, awesome food. Its hard to have top class cuisine in London. This is a great example great cuisine, quality, flavor!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matteo I, Manager at Launceston Place, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Linda,

thank you very much for your lovely feedback, it is very nice to hear a guest speaking so highly of our cuisine, especially in such a competitive place as London.

I hope we will have other occasions to delight your palate should you find yourself again in London.

Many thanks
Kindest regards
Matteo Inzaina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very special place”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is a place for a very special gourmet dinner with friends. The food is fabulous. The presentation on a Friday/Saturday night, when they do a tasting menu, is measured and meant to last an entire evening. The wine pairings are superb. And the location is upscale, international London at its best.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo I, Manager at Launceston Place, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Jeffrey,

thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit at Launceston Place, we are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of it.

We hope we will be able to welcome you again at Launceston Place, maybe for a brand new tasting menu and wine pairing.

Many thanks again
Kindest regards
Matteo Inzaina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“luxury and great service”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We went for a private dinner and tasting menu.the staff were exceptional in the organising and on the day. They explained the wines.great fun and wonderful experience.my only issue is why do we always have to pay such huge mark ups for sparkling and still water and in the end so much goes to waste?!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travel-bunnygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo I, Manager at Launceston Place, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Travel-bunnygirl,

we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us.

The Tasting menu with wine pairing is definitely the best experience at Launceston Place and it is surely fun when you are interested in wine and appreciate the interaction and the explanations of our Sommeliers.

I completely understand your point of view about the water. Unfortunately, when it comes to fine dining, leaving guests' glasses empty is seen as a poor service and hence we make sure they are always topped up. Nevertheless, towards the end of the meal, as soon as a guest express that he/she doesn't want anymore water, we make sure all the staff is briefed about it and the glass remains empty.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at LP in the not too distant future.

In the meantime...

Many thanks
Kindest regards,
Matteo Inzaina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing food and lovely staff”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Had dinner here about a month ago and we indulged ourselves in the tasting menu which is definitely to be recommended and to be honest I loved every single bit of it!
Went back today for Lunch with friends and this time went for the Market menu which sits in the middle price range between the set lunch menu and tasting menu.Started with the pigeon which was perfectly cooked and came with,amongst other things,frozen foie gras which melted in the mouth-amazing!Then went for a sea bass main course-again everything was perfectly cooked and delicious!And well as it's Friday you can't not have dessert so went for a chocolate sphere with pistachio ice cream and chocolate soil-also amazing!My friends (both of whom are foodies) said it was some of the best food they had tasted and I have to agree!Also have to say that the staff are just lovely and I look forward to going back again sometime very soon!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo I, Manager at Launceston Place, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Jerry,

thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review on TriAdvisor.
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your second experience with us so much.
The pigeon and the sea bass dishes are definitely lovely and I hope you managed to have a taste of your friends' scallops and pork dishes, two of my absolute favourites!

We will be looking forward to your next visit as, like the old Italian proverb says, there's no two without three.

Many thanks again from all the staff.

Kindest regards
Matteo Inzaina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Launceston Place also viewed

 

Been to Launceston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing