We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% Excellent”
Review of Launceston Place

Launceston Place
Ranked #106 of 24,437 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$93
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
Description: Nestled in the quaint residential streets of Kensington, Launceston Place is an award winning hidden gem. The Head Chef Ben Murphy, was named Chef to Watch 2016 by The Good Food Guide and took home the Breakthrough Chef of the Year gong at the Food & Travel Awards. The restaurant has received 2 AA Rosettes in 2017, while the wine list has won Tatler Best Wine List Award, the Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine and Notable Wine List 2013 and 2014 by the AA guide. Open for lunch Wednesday to Sunday and dinner all week (except Monday) Launceston Place attracts a loyal local following, as well as being a fantastic destination for visitors to this charming London neighbourhood.
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had booked an early lunch at the restaurant as we were going on to the Royal Albert Hall, which is just around the corner. The staff checked on our timings and assured us we would be able to have three courses if we wished. The service was excellent and so was the food. A three course luncheon menu is available for £30, which, for a restaurant of this standard is pretty good value. I can highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ann2shoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo I, Manager at Launceston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Ann,

I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed you recent experience with us and we were able to be a nice part of what certainly was a special day (a visit to the RHA always makes it so).
I hope there will be soon another occasion to welcome you, whether for another visit at the Royal Albert Hall or even better, for a pampering treat with our tasting menu.

Many thanks
Kindest regards
Matteo Inzaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 490 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Fine dinning at its best
A hidden gem tucked away in a quiet London street
Service was fantastic
Food was awesome two hours just flew by no pressure just totally chilled out
Thank you for a fantastic lunch!!

1  Thank Youngie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo I, Manager at Launceston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Youngie1,

we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your recent lunch with us.

We hope next time you will have time to try our tasting menu, an even better way of making some time fly by while savouring some of the best dishes on our menu.

Many thanks again for your kind review
Best regards
Matteo Inzaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Great service, awesome food. Its hard to have top class cuisine in London. This is a great example great cuisine, quality, flavor!!!

1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matteo I, Manager at Launceston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Linda,

thank you very much for your lovely feedback, it is very nice to hear a guest speaking so highly of our cuisine, especially in such a competitive place as London.

I hope we will have other occasions to delight your palate should you find yourself again in London.

Many thanks
Kindest regards
Matteo Inzaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is a place for a very special gourmet dinner with friends. The food is fabulous. The presentation on a Friday/Saturday night, when they do a tasting menu, is measured and meant to last an entire evening. The wine pairings are superb. And the location is upscale, international London at its best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo I, Manager at Launceston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Jeffrey,

thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit at Launceston Place, we are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of it.

We hope we will be able to welcome you again at Launceston Place, maybe for a brand new tasting menu and wine pairing.

Many thanks again
Kindest regards
Matteo Inzaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We went for a private dinner and tasting menu.the staff were exceptional in the organising and on the day. They explained the wines.great fun and wonderful experience.my only issue is why do we always have to pay such huge mark ups for sparkling and still water and in the end so much goes to waste?!

Thank Travel-bunnygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo I, Manager at Launceston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Travel-bunnygirl,

we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us.

The Tasting menu with wine pairing is definitely the best experience at Launceston Place and it is surely fun when you are interested in wine and appreciate the interaction and the explanations of our Sommeliers.

I completely understand your point of view about the water. Unfortunately, when it comes to fine dining, leaving guests' glasses empty is seen as a poor service and hence we make sure they are always topped up. Nevertheless, towards the end of the meal, as soon as a guest express that he/she doesn't want anymore water, we make sure all the staff is briefed about it and the glass remains empty.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at LP in the not too distant future.

In the meantime...

Many thanks
Kindest regards,
Matteo Inzaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Launceston Place also viewed

 

Been to Launceston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing