We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the night brilliant!”
Review of Launceston Place

Launceston Place
Ranked #70 of 23,357 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$93
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
Description: Nestled in the quaint residential streets of Kensington, Launceston Place is an award winning hidden gem. Passionate about using the best seasonal produce chef patron Raphael Francois and his team create a menu using simple and luxury ingredients alike. The restaurant has received 2 AA Rosettes in 2017, while the wine list has won Tatler Best Wine List Award, the Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine and Notable Wine List 2013 and 2014 by the AA guide. Open for lunch Wednesday to Sunday and dinner all week (except Monday) Launceston Place attracts a loyal local following, as well as being a fantastic destination for visitors to this charming London neighbourhood.
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Beautiful place to dine with absolutely outstanding service. Chose the a la carte menu and the sommelier uncovered a fabulous wine to accompany our meal. Expensive, but worth every penny. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alex0242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo I, Manager at Launceston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Alex,

thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on TA.

It is a genuine pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your recent visit.
We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards
Matteo Inzaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 423 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Been here twice, each time very good. Tasting menu good sized portions though the desserts were just ok. All in all very good!

1  Thank Kingoftwicls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo I, Manager at Launceston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Kingoftwicls,

thank you very much for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to hear that overall you have enjoyed our tasting menu.
Our current dessert on the tasting menu is on purpose something slightly more delicate and refreshing than usual, intended to be light enough to be enjoyed at the end of a tasting menu but still full of flavor, hence why the use of pineapple together with a very light lime cheesecake. The feedbacks on this dessert are 99% of the time outstanding but, at the same time, I understand that it might not satisfy the needs of some keen "pudding lovers" or "chocoholics".
Please feel always free to share your personal preferences with us, we love to be able to find alternatives to dishes that you might think are not of your taste to make sure we don't miss the mark on any step of your meal.

We are looking forward to your next visit, hopefully in the near future.

Many thanks
Kindest regards
Matteo Inzaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had been here before a number of years ago and decided to give it another go. We had the 6 course tasting menu and WOW what can I say, the Cauliflower amuse bouche , the egg and Yorkshire asparagus, scallops with chicken and we swapped the beef for the Suckling Pig, the cheese selection was great and we came away with the address of where they buy there cheese's from. The pineapple desert was amazing.
The staff were professional, very knowledgeable and took a massive interest in the food and how we thought the different combinations worked. The wine list was detailed and comprehensive, good value for money.
Overall a great lunch, afternoon spent in fantastic surroundings. Will certainly go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheEleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo I, Manager at Launceston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear TheEleys,

I am very pleased to read that, on your recent return visit to Launceston Place, you were so favourably impressed by our tasting menu.
All our members of staff are very passionate about food and love sharing their passion with our guests. Looking after our guests, cooking great food for them and making sure that everyone has a fantastic experience and a memorable time is incredibly rewarding and the motor that drives our passion for what we do.

All the reviews on TA are always shared with all the staff and I am happy to convey a big thank you from all of them.

We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards
Matteo Inzaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We went to the Launceston to celebrate the New Year and we were very happy and delight by the food, the service, the wine… We will definitely go back. This is one the restaurants in London that you don't want to miss. We loved it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SandraSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo I, Manager at Launceston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Sandra,

thank you very much for taking the time to review Launceston Place on TripAdvisor.
With such an incredibly competitive and vibrant dining scene in London it is great to know that you consider LP a place not to be missed.

I hope we will be able to delight you again soon with another pleasant experience.

Many thanks
Kindest regards
Matteo Inzaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is certainly our favourite! Even though we only went for one of their special lunch offers, the service was impeccable, the food spectacular and it represented the best value £ for £ that I think we've ever had anywhere.

2  Thank brendan_crawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteo I, Manager at Launceston Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Brendan,

it is a genuine pleasure to read such a positive review, thank you for taking the time to post it.
I am very happy to read that you thought that our lunch menu was great value for money; we firmly believe it and make all the effort to make it so.

I hope you will soon have the chance to come back for another great lunch or, why not, maybe for a dinner lingering on our beautiful tasting menu.

Many thanks
Kindest regards
Matteo Inzaina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Launceston Place also viewed

 

Been to Launceston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing