We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the very best in London!”
Review of Le Gavroche

Le Gavroche
Ranked #39 of 22,516 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Description: The first UK restaurant to be awarded one, two, and then three Michelin stars, Le Gavroche remains a class apart. Since opening in 1967, this Mayfair bastion of French cuisine has been very much a family affair, and chef-patron Michel Roux Jr continues the tradition today. The elegance of the menu and the ambience is impeccably tailored, while the discreet service has won its own plaudits.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“One of the very best in London!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have just had our daughters 40th birthday lunch here on the 3 course package.
It was just superb and the whole occasion was a total joy.
We eat here regularly and we have to say that the one thing which impresses us most is "Total Consistency".
We have never in the past 3 years had anything other than great food, great service and it is an absolute delight to be there..
From our experience and supported by all our gourmet friends, this just has to be the best lunch deal in London!
We will be there twice in August and just look forward to it every time.
The other thing that impresses us is the fact that Michel Roux Jnr is in the restaurant many times and given his other commitments etc it is so nice to see him being attentive to his customers, he is a charming man!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,440
    335
    136
    53
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
181 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Memorable perfect meal”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful experience at Le Gavroche. Perfect food served by attentive staff. Magical . Each dish was special and expertly made. Luxury. The place to go at least once in your lifetime if you love good food. Beautiful intimate dining room. We met Michel Roux which was a treat!

Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing ”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic experience this was. First visit to the restaurant and we weren't disappointed at all. Exquisite food and service and all round enjoyment. Hope to go back again soon.

Helpful?
Thank chev40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Overall I have to say, a tad disappointing”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A visit to this restaurant is all about the end to end experience and not just the meal itself. Sadly too many elements of the service were below par for this to be rated a great experience. Given the expectations we had when booking, we were left feeling disappointed.
The food was excellent - very, very good. Thank you.

However:
Much of the service very cold & impersonal, almost clinical. It appeared that some of the staff were performing a ‘function', a ‘task', but with no empathy to the customer .
There were many, many Staff. Whilst this can be an asset, it can also be very much a two edge sword. Rather than being a calm & relaxed environment in which to dine, at times we found it almost hectic & frantic
The butter was replaced in it's entirety virtually every single time we took some. It got to the point where this felt quite intrusive
My wife was seated directly under one of the air con vents which meant that her food went cold very quickly
The bowls for the sugar with our coffee were like buckets ! We had espresso and they looked so out of context. Even with a standard coffee, they were so oversize they looked excessive, and also very heavily stacked with sugar cubes. Lacking finesse.

What adds further disappointment is that, having raised these issues with the restaurant, we have received a fairly bland response.

I would suggest that, for the money and overall dinning experience, there are much better alternatives in London.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
126 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I was taken as a treat for my 70th birthday - what a treat! The service was attentive, but never obtrusive, the ambience welcoming and the food was simply great. Michel Roux Jnr even visited every table, with a welcoming smile. The price may seem high, but the set lunch with wine, coffee, water and little extras included, is well worth it. When items on the menu weren't to our taste or requirements, alternatives were provided without fuss. A wonderful experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Benphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Gavroche also viewed

 

Been to Le Gavroche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing