We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Service but average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Loch Fyne

Loch Fyne
Ranked #1,950 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$31 - US$92
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Description: Bright and airy Loch Fyne is a harbour for lovers of pure and simple seafood. This Covent Garden restaurant keeps its menu as uncluttered as its dining area, with subtle fish recipes that stick to straightforward flavours. Dishes include the famed seasonal oysters from the fertile Argyll waters that give the restaurant its name.
Silsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good Service but average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Friendly efficient service let down by mediocre food. Oysters to start were lovely ( but you'd be hard pressed to make a mess of those). My partner's smoked haddock and concannon mash was tasty but only luke warm. My mixed seafood medley of mussels, clams and king prawns was over cooked and again just tepid when served. We should have complained immediately but the dishes were just about ok when served. After a few minutes it seemed churlish to complain when they had gone stone cold. We mentioned it to the waitress and she was very understanding and knocked 10% off the bill without being asked. An ok gesture but we'd have preferred piping hot food in the first place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    323
    193
    120
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

When visiting London on a wet and miserable Easter Sunday we decided to head for Covent Garden for something to eat. We headed for Loch Fyne expecting it to be fully booked. We could see a few empty tables from outside so went in to enquire. The staff member was very welcoming and found us a table straight away. We were offered several different menus and she explained each one to us. We decided to eat of the Easter Sunday special menu which included a main course and a glass of Prosseco for £9.99 which is excellent value.The Fish and chips we ordered were the tastiest we have eaten. The fish was beautifully cooked and the chips were crispy. We were even offered French fries or Thick cut chips!
I would highly recommend this restaurant for its quality of food, friendliness and efficiency of the staff and the pleasant surroundings. We will certainly return when visiting London again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miketheshrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Popped in for a quick bite before theatre, speedy service, professional staff, good value for money!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clareeking21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Luke warm and tasteless”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

After hearing about how good Loch Fyne was for fish lovers, we decided to eat here before popping across the road to see Mama Mia. It was a birthday treat for my girlfriend. Service at first was very good, waiter seated us quickly and helped with the menu. Even took girlfriend up to see some of the fish as she was interested in a couple she had not heard off before. I ordered a special of Sea Bass and girlfriend had the Lemon sole. While chatting and waiting, i noticed a few people complaining about meals being cold and there seemed to be a lot going back to the kitchen. When ours arrived, mine was OK, Not hot,but just about edible. Very dry though as if it had been sitting some time. Girlfriends was almost cold and also totally tasteless. I love sole and could not believe what she had been served. The waiter asked what we thought of the food, and when we said that "We have had a lot better". He realised that his tip had just gone and was rude to me about my knowledge of fish. Coming from a real fishing port and enjoying fish for over 50 years, i had a wry smile. We ate what we could, paid as soon as possible and made our escape. Very very disappointed as we had expected so much more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidgirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Went for a pre theatre meal. Huge amount of choice including special meal deal which was excellent value for money. I am not a huge fish fan but there was something for non fish eaters. Saying that my husband had haddock and chips and having had a taste of his fish it was beautiful. Very good value for money and friendly service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank F1Junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loch Fyne also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Loch Fyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing