We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous food, shame about the service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Kitchen

Mandarin Kitchen
Ranked #1,469 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Notting Hill
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, shame about the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

When asked for a table for 3 we were greeted with a very stern 'have you booked' when I responded no I expected to be turned away, only to then be offered a table! Our order was taken by a miserable waiter who insisted on looking at other tables when taking our order apposed to making eye contact with us, no smile no please or thank you!? Our main meals we're deleivered whilst we we're still eating our soup and dishes and spoons whipped out of our hands!!? We had to ask 3 times for the bill and in the end had to get up and walk to the cash desk to pay!!!?? Food was however delicious but spoilt by such poor service :(

Helpful?
Thank lellis81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    194
    63
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Reservations?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We booked a table knowing it was going to be busy on a Saturday evening. Arrived and we were asked to wait another 15 minutes. Ok no problem..45 minutes later still no table!! I think that was our cue to go elsewhere! So no comments about the food I'm afraid.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WA117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed but ok ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We heard great things about this restaurant but we had an average meal. Service was decent but food a bit disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank beggbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Noodles!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Frankly, the best Lobster Noodles i've tasted! Went for the Spring Onion & Ginger option. Noodles was springy, full of flavor and lobster was fresh and cooked to tender perfection. 1 lobster cost £30 and each noodle portion per head is £3 - you can add as many portion as you like. Recommend you go for one noodle portion per person because its not enough to go around even for small eaters. Also tried the roast duck which was nothing spectacular, prefer Four Seasons roast duck. Other items on the menu was just okay. Better to book a table in advance to avoid long waiting queues especially on weekends. Nothing great about the ambiance, very typical chinese restaurant with average service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanJayLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“In my opinion the best chinese in london”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I have been to this restaurant several times and the food has been to perfection. I always go for the Lobster and it can be ordered in a Variety of ways but always good. A very busy restaurant so on the week-ends it is necessary to wait some time for a table, even if you booked, and with all the people pouring in it looks a bit chaotic, however the staff are very patient and helpful and once you get your table you will not be rushed. Oh the other thing I like about this restaurant is that they don't try to squeeze a loot of people into a small space. When ever I have Chinese in London I go to the Mandarin Kitchen.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandarin Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mandarin Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing