We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best authentic Chinese in London”
Review of Mr Chow

Mr Chow
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 10/20
20:00
Ranked #18,646 of 24,154 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$41 - US$110
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Knightsbridge
Transit: Knightsbridge Underground Station Major bus routes.
Description: Mr Chow opened on Valentines Day 1968. Designed by Michael Chow, it remains one of the the most uniquely beautiful restaurants in London. The atmosphere is one of relaxed luxury with original works of art, lacquered walls and white marble floors. Mr Chow serves a combination of original,authentic Beijing recipes together with new innovative dishes, specialities such as Green Prawns, Ma Mignon and Mr Chow noodles were all created by our award winning chefs. Also on the menu is our superlative Beijing Duck and a variety of exciting vegetarian dishes. During the evening, as entertainment, a chef performs the skilful art of hand-pulled Beijing noodles. Known as an institution in London MR CHOW draws generations of the young and fashionable by serving consistently excellent food, prepared by executive chef John Wu and his team. "All of it impeccable, great, tasty, a triumph! That was a good meal to put it mildly" Michael Winner The Sunday Times. AVERAGE PRICE DINNER-L60+
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

I've been going to Mr Chow for nearly 20 years now. The food never disappoints. If you are after proper Chinese food, this is your destination. Smart, great service, fabulous food. Expensive but worth it.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank deventas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 207 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2016

We dined at Mt Chow on the recommendation of our hotel concierge. It is located in Knightsbridge near Harrods.
The first thing that strikes you about this restaurant which is known for its Chinese food is that the waiters are predominantly Italian! The restaurant itself is quite small but very well appointed and comfortable. Te service was great and friendly.
The food was just to die for! The Matre de assisted us with our selection which consisted of scrummy Dumplings, crispy duck served in Beiging Duck style and filet beef - all these are specialties of the house.
It was all absolutely delicious. accompanied with a nice Chateau Neuf De Pape.
It was great dining experience and as we expected not cheap.

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank John_H8052
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Food is ok, nothing worth the name, but Mr Chow's charm is long gone. Service was awful. We made our reservation weeks prior and were seated upstairs where it's noisy and the service was poor. Few waiters and not the service we had some years ago or expected for the price. Also, desserts are better in any coffee shop in London. Not worth to visit when in London.

Date of visit: July 2016
4  Thank Reyna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Went back to Mr Chow after many years.
The experience was not as good as it had been.

Food is ok ( but not particularly inventive or interesting).
Service was very poor: not attentive, not professional in the presentation and delivery of the food, overly friendly with some guests (on the border of inappropriateness).

The location is cozy but this means often the waiters bump on the patrons. The first floor should be avoided due to a very steep staircase and the floor that vibrates as the waiters move around.

Total bill is high for the overall quality of the experience (even considering that London is a very expensive city)

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank Vigorish93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

The food was absolutely out of this world. We didn't even look at the menu. We had a party of 10 the waiter just sorted us out. We were all stuffed before our final Duck course.
Service was so so. Lots of servers all about but our drink did stand empty.
Tip. If you have trouble negotiating a large spiral staircase best to sit downstairs.
Would recommend and will be back!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Wichita2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Mr Chow also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Mr Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.