We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very successful conference dinner venue!”
Review of The Peasant

The Peasant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Peasant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #128 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Clerkenwell
Description: Boho pub on the ground floor; beautiful period restaurant upstairs, The Peasant is one of London’s original and best gastropubs. The lovingly-restored former gin palace keeps followers faithful with an accomplished blend of cosy, mezze-serving, mosaic-floored bar leading to a lavish, high-ceilinged dining room filled with circus memorabilia and Victorian candelabras. An adventurous, frequently-changing menu promises such elegant excitement as roast halibut, chorizo, and piquillo peppers with lemon rice. And Denham Estate venison haunch on a creamy parsnip mash with sage butter. Wonderful, wonderful stuff.
Reviewed 28 April 2017

I booked the upstairs restaurant at the Peasant for a mid-week conference dinner for around 45 delegates from 15 or so countries and our experience was totally positive from start to finish. Manager Nick was really helpful and responsive in making arrangements for the menu, pricing, room layout, etc. On arrival, the room was beautifully set up and was really attractive for this type of event as the whole of the upstairs was reserved for our use. We had three choices per course with conference delegates able to choose their options on the night which is rare as often meals have to be pre-set with exceptions only for those with specific dietary needs. All three options for each course were a hit: really delicious, generously proportioned, presented with style. This was definitely a step above what you would expect in a mid-priced conference dinner. The service was really efficient and the whole evening went like a dream. I really recommend the Peasant for other events of this type. Thanks, Nick and team!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ValH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

If you want the perfect pub wedding reception in London, look no further.

For our December wedding, we wanted to avoid the standard 'marquee in a field' reception as we wanted something a bit more local, warm and charismatic. This place was wondeful and ticked all the boxes.

They have a wedding pretty much every Saturday of the year (we booked 11 months in advance) so it's a well oiled machine. Reception downstairs, dinner upstairs then back down for the party. You get the whole pub for a wedding booking.

Staff are super efficient but at the same time friendly and relaxed. They share a joke with you whilst making sure you have everything you could need. They created exactly the type of atmosphere we wanted.

Nick, the event manager, couldn't have been more helpful and flexible. He made everything so easy for us throughout the months of planning. A real 'Yes Man' and a pleasure to deal with.

The pub itself is beautiful. Spread over two floors it boasts high ceilings, log fires and a classic but warm decor. Its the right amount of space too. We had 95 guests and at no point did we ever feel overcrowded or like we had lost anyone.

The food was incredible - pretty much all the thank you cards we got afterwards mentioned the food first! The platters are hugely generous as are the lunch/dinner portions. The scotch eggs are as good as I've had anywhere in London (and I have had a few!)

I know everyone probably says their wedding was the perfect wedding but I honestly couldn't find a fault with these guys.

Thank you to you all.
Will & Helena

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank willmurtagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

The Peasant has consistently good food, in a lovely atmospheric Victorian London pub. Good gastropub menu, carefully cooked, and a good selection of beer. We were a party of 10 celebrating birthdays, which clashed with their Monday quiz night, but they obligingly turned the speakers down a bit, so everyone was happy.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnnaMcKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Really disappointed as went for Sunday lunch based on the reviews I had read. We had to return our roast dinners as they were cold. When we did get them back they were just warm not hot the potatoes and yorkshire puds were not fresh, looked and tasted like they had been reheated several times. I did not eat my food and despite returning an almost full plate of food was not asked why?
Would not recommend the Sunday Roasts at The Peasant.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 171tina12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

I had the roast chicken and he had the roast beef and neither of us were disappointed. Friendly staff worth a visit

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank teleczkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Peasant also viewed

 

Been to The Peasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing