We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“company dinner for 18 Super”
Review of The Peasant

The Peasant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Peasant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #128 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Clerkenwell
Description: Boho pub on the ground floor; beautiful period restaurant upstairs, The Peasant is one of London’s original and best gastropubs. The lovingly-restored former gin palace keeps followers faithful with an accomplished blend of cosy, mezze-serving, mosaic-floored bar leading to a lavish, high-ceilinged dining room filled with circus memorabilia and Victorian candelabras. An adventurous, frequently-changing menu promises such elegant excitement as roast halibut, chorizo, and piquillo peppers with lemon rice. And Denham Estate venison haunch on a creamy parsnip mash with sage butter. Wonderful, wonderful stuff.
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Booked a table at the Peasant for 18 of us. The food was exceptional, service amazing and we will be returning again and again. Cannot thank the team at the Peasant enough, great atmosphere, food and wine and very inexpensive for the food on offer. Look forward to returning very soon.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 717johannar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Sunday lunch main course of beef was excellent, beef was cooked medium-rare and not over-done like so many other pubs/restaurants, excellent vegetables including the cauliflower cheese (just the right amount of cheese), excellent horseradish sauce, Yorkshire Pudding wasn't too greasy like so many other places.

An excellent main course.

Starters of warm prawn salad with chorizo was good (large and tasty) although only two large-ish prawns so not as great as the main course.

Good service.

Nice traditional pub with high ceilings and other architectural features.

Having lived very close to The Peasant for a long time I wished I'd have tried out this place a long time ago. There's a shortage of good Sunday lunches in Clerkenwell but no more! But please don't tell anyone!!!!!!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank RichardOldfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

A real find - booked for a quick dinner in London on Friday night, and pleasantly surprise to find this place a short walk from Farringdon. The bar downstairs is well stocked, and despite it being Friday night (19:15) we got a table and had a drink before our booking.
The upstairs restaurant has a friendly feel - again surprisingly quiet considering the time and location - the food was excellent and generous portions, very much a Gastro pub rather than a 'fancy' restaurant. I had the fish wellington and my partner the guinea fowl, both of which were lovely. The wine menu was fine, not the place for someone looking for an extensive wine list, but still very good.
Service was excellent, Olga was friendly and attentive, but did not hassle or hurry us - even when we were the last in the restaurant.
Very pleased to have found this place, as it is an excellent spot to go for a drink, even if you aren't after a full meal.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jp101625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Had the pleasure of being invited here for a wedding reception on the 16th of September and we had a great time.

The meal was served upstairs and from memory it is the only wedding I have attended where we had a choice of starters, mains and deserts (three to choose from on each). The food was well served and the portion size was very large.

Bar staff downstairs were skilled and they put on a good number (five I think) so you were never waiting. The DJ was also very good (not sure if he was part of the pub or not), he got me and the wife doing the conga! (Well that could have also been attributed to the bar staff!).

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JJ74SPAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Reunion at Peasant with two old friends and their partners, following an evening of medieval music at St John's Church.

Good wine, good beer, good menu, good company. I had a starter salad with smoked salmon, tiny, salty crawfish on a bed of endive frisée. Delicious! Quite enough for a full meal. £6.50. Courteous, cheerful servers. Simple pub atmosphere.

I'd return anytime.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Wingfield R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Peasant also viewed

 

Been to The Peasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing