We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal for party of 12”
Review of The Peasant

The Peasant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Peasant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #128 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Clerkenwell
Description: Boho pub on the ground floor; beautiful period restaurant upstairs, The Peasant is one of London’s original and best gastropubs. The lovingly-restored former gin palace keeps followers faithful with an accomplished blend of cosy, mezze-serving, mosaic-floored bar leading to a lavish, high-ceilinged dining room filled with circus memorabilia and Victorian candelabras. An adventurous, frequently-changing menu promises such elegant excitement as roast halibut, chorizo, and piquillo peppers with lemon rice. And Denham Estate venison haunch on a creamy parsnip mash with sage butter. Wonderful, wonderful stuff.
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Upstairs restaurant is fantastic, the food was superb (good portion sizes, very fresh). I’m not a dessert person but I tried 3and they were all delicious! We had a party of 12 for a Christmas party and it exceeded everyone’s expectations. The wine list is excellent and very reasonable. The service was swift and friendly, despite being really busy. We eat out in Clerkenwell a lot and this is the best restaurant we have been to recently, couldn’t recommend highly enough.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank LHannay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017

We had been before for our works Christmas bash and it had been excellent. Yesterday, it took over two hours before we got our main course which was barely warm. And they changed the deal at the last minute. They have lost the plot; unlike Arnie, I won't be back (even if you paid me).

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank petercommtech1d1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We did our work Xmas Party in the upstairs room. The room is amazing - everyone loved the vibe; the food was excellent- really tasty; and finally, Nick and his team were fantastic - really helpful in arranging the event and brilliant on the night. Thank you so much!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Lexi_Segal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

9 of us came for a team Christmas meal in the bar downstairs. The service from the bar was great & friendly. With food, the kitchen was very accommodating of any specific dietary requirements. The food was excellent and the portions generous. All puddings were great and the cheese board amazing! I would definitely recommend The Peasant and look forward to visiting again. Thank you for a lovely evening from Simply Sustainable.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michelleliddle1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

We had our wedding reception Saturday just gone and what a perfect choice.

Nick was fantastic from the start had a wealth of helpful suggestions and options for our big day. Supportive in the run up and set up everything for us on the day.

We just wanted to say a HUGE thank you to you and your team. We loved it and had so much fun as did many of our friends who said it was a brilliant day / evening and "the best wedding food" they'd ever had

Be back for drinks soon Carly & Si

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Carlyo815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Peasant also viewed

 

Been to The Peasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing