We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic food, terrible service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofra - Covent Garden - CLOSED

Sofra - Covent Garden
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Authentic food, terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The food is authentic, fairly tasty and good value (set menus, pre theatre etc) BUT service was truly appalling..

We booked on line for a pre opera meal. We were not on the list and had to wait ages and answer the same questions three times even though the place was not busy. We wanted separate bills and I explained how at the beginning. The result, a 15 minute back and forth where the same (wrong) bill was re-presented no less than 4 times (1 of those times extremely rudely).

We almost missed the opera. Never again.

Such a shame though , as the food is very good value and there is a nice range of mezze dishes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pxc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    137
    59
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham
Level Contributor
128 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A far cry from the good ol' days.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Been a while since revisited Sofra and last experience hadn't been as good as the old days, but really fancied Meze and location worked for pre-theatre.
Nicely set out inside and with a very clean feel.
Welcomed with open arms by front of house, but manner diminished once it was clear we only wanted a light bite. Good choice of menu and fixed price options, but when we sought guidance on best way to just have a Meze style meal to suit our appetite, we did not find advice particularly helpful and actually verging on dismissive. We ultimately decided just to choose 4 of our own dishes.
Wine arrived and was red and not the rose we had ordered - however, the pink rioja was delicious.
It is lovely that as soon as you are seated you receive the portion of bread, hummus and olives - note bread used to be much nicer, softer with a slight sweetness.
Tables are verging on the small side, so when our 4 dishes arrived, there was an apparent lack of space for all dishes to be put on the table - rather than decanting the food to perhaps smaller plates, the head waiter, without asking, immediately served 2 dishes on to our plates, without knowing if we wanted to share!
The spinach and mixed cheese pastry parcels are nice but bizarrely served with what can only be described as bottled sweet thai chilli dipping sauce - Turkish?! The red lentil patties were a disappointing choice, the hummus with chopped lamb was nice and worked well with the aubergine and peppers dish.
Thankfully supper wasn't the main focal point of the day / eve and on this occasion just served it's purpose, but experience on this occasion was overall disappointing and I wouldn't rush back. Shame. (Interestingly, restaurant was the least busy I have seen it ....)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RuralGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Chose this restaurant for an early dinner on Sunday, and it did not disappoint - a good range of dishes on offer, both meat and vegetarian, and bread/humus/olives provided at the start of the meal. The large sharing platter we had as a started (9 different items) was especially nice. The cost, including 2 courses, freshly squeezed juice drinks each, coffee or tea - including service charge - came to £65 for three.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KentishMan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In one word APPALLING.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a terrible evening with my guests because of this restaurant. Cheated us! Misleading menu & terrible management. Went home still hungry!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank charleshope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Pre-Theatre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Go here most times we are going to Covent Garden. It is competent and friendly, although some times at pre-theatre they don't meet the time limits they state, which I have to say are a bit ambitious. Last visit was a bit disorganised, but everyone is entitled to their off days. Going again this week and we will have to see how that pans out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WSimonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sofra - Covent Garden also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing