We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been here many times and always love it!”
Review of Sushi Say - CLOSED

Sushi Say
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$198
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Been here many times and always love it!”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

What can I say - we come here once a month and although we live locally, it's the type of restaurant we'd travel to.

The service is excellent and they have a large sake collection (and usually a few specials not on the menu). The sushi is excellent, very fresh and presented brilliantly.

As mentioned, you really need to book at weekends. It is very popular, we actually prefer to sit at the sushi bar and that's usually the last place that gets booked so say if you'd like to sit at the bar or tables.

Sashimi is excellent and the tempura is sensational. Yakitori is great too.

We've never had a bad meal here and must have been here 20 times.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank faceman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    24
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
119 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great place for sushi”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The quality of the sushi is excellent. Must try the Toro nigiri, it is something else! Small place in a not so nice area, but great food and worth a visit if you like sushi and are nearby.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JavierH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Sushi I ever had”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The menu is extensive and features rarities such as Toro and jelly fish.
The fish is expertly cut, presented and of incredible freshness... it really showcases the skill of the chef. Daily specials are exiting and tasty. The Toro was incredible, just melt in the mouth as well as the salmon and others. the jellyfish is interesting and of a sup rising texture, well worth trying. For those less fond of sushi, there are penny of other choices, like tempura, udon, soba and other fried or grilled dishes. Good Sushi is never cheap but for the incredible quality and interesting flavors you experience here it is great value and well worth a visit. Service was efficient , educational and friendly, everything is prepared to order and can take a little time... just enjoy one of the very tasty Sakes in the mean time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Obi2Kenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply put Sushi Say served the finest Sush and Sashimi in London.”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Yes I'm local, yes I come here almost every week, but I also have eaten Sushi in the supposed best restaurants in London, not to mention Tokyo. If you want the finest fish, served in satisfying portions (1 inch thick Toro sashimi anyone) travel here. Service is friendly and very efficient. Remember to book though, I'm not the only one who things this is the best place in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QChambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best traditional Japanese sushi in London”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I've been living in London for 4 years and going to sushi restaurants on a weekly basis and I must say that this is the best traditional sushi in London.

We had Otoro sashimi which was about £25 and came in 7 thick cut pieces. It was very fresh and excellent Otoro. A delight!

We also had the best prawn Tempura we've ever had (approx £8 for 4 king prawns). It was quite heavy in crispy, thick flake batter. So, if you're only into super light batter, this might not be your thing.

Our main dishes were premium Chirashi (£22) which was fantastic. It was an absolute right choice we've made on that evening. The dish is composed of finest/freshest raw fish with superb sushi rice with a hint of rice vinegar.

The ambiance was modern but still authentic, loved the warm light!
The service was friendly and helpful.

Despite easily paying about £100 for 2 people when going large, this is easily the most value for money sushi outside Tokyo.

Strongly recommended!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warunthorn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Say also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing