We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slightly disappointing”
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ranked #332 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$96
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Cross street: Curzon Street
Transit: Green Park
Description: Michelin-starred Tamarind presents an elegant take on Indian cuisine from its gilded dining room in chic Mayfair. The inventive menu is rooted in traditional Moghul cooking, with fish, meat and game dishes brought forth from the Tandoor oven in an authentic north-west Indian fashion. Muted tones and attentive service make the restaurant a smart yet convivial destination.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“slightly disappointing”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Tamarind was a name I started to hear more and more and so at the suggestion of friend we had supper there recently. The food started off light and elegant but soon became quite heavy going. If you go for a tasting menu (as we did) then make sure you haven't eaten for 3 days beforehand. The service was good - although the sommelier wasn't brilliant - and because we sat quite late began to feel the staff were checking their watches as often as they were our table. Not cheap either so not entirely sure yet if I would go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindCollection, General Manager at Tamarind, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Russell W,

Thank you for review of Tamarind.

I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your supper at Tamarind.

Please contact me directly so that I may discuss the matter with you personally.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Jespal Soor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    297
    168
    52
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked a table due to a great recommendation from a friend and we were not disappointed. We love Indian food, so we did the tasting menu to open our hearts to more dishes. We were completely delighted by how wonderful everything was. The service could not have been better either. From the moment we entered the door until we stepped out, the staff was superb in every way. Our sommelier was very knowledgeable and helped us pick out two extraordinary wines to compliment our meal. I highly recommend this experience to anyone in the mood for Indian cuisine and a upscale experience that doesn't feel stuffy. Thank you Tamarind for a wonderful evening, we will be back next time we are in London

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jleahkaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindCollection, General Manager at Tamarind, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Jleahkaylor,

Thank you for the fantastic review of Tamarind
.
Marika, our Assistant Manager and Sommelier is very passionate about her work and she will be very happy to hear that you enjoyed the wines that she recommended.

We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again in the not so distant future!

Regards,

Jespal Soor
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Number 1 Indian Restaurant in London”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Have been frequenting this restaurant for many years, it never fails to impress. The food ambience and setting is truly outstanding. Visisted their California restaurant also which wasnt on par with London. Overall the best Indian restaurant in London by far. Highly recomended

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MylesLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindCollection, General Manager at Tamarind, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear MylesLondonUk

Thank you for giving such a lovely review of Tamarind.

We are honoured that you rate us so highly. Please drop me an email the next time that you intend to visit. It would be really nice for either myself of the Head Chef to meet you.

We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Regards,

Jespal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down
Level Contributor
315 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is an excellent, modern Indian restaurant. Rang just before walking cross to the restaurant and had got a table with no fuss. Service was particularly good and food was excellent. Modern in that it was very tasty but also well presented and not too much. Starters were good and we both had Tikka Masala which included rice and nan bread. Reasonable value with three course menu - waiter talked us into having desert which we never do after an Indian meal - mango ice cream which was very refreshing. Very busy for 6.30pm on a Tuesday evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthernerCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindCollection, General Manager at Tamarind, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear NorthernerCoDown,

Thank you for your the lovely review of Tamarind.

I'm glad you enjoyed the experience and in particular that you tried some of new desserts.

We really look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Jespal Soor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have been there on 2 occasions, one was a working lunch and the other dinner with friends. On both occasion the food was outstanding, as was the service. Would happily revisit and always recommend Tamarind to people.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarindCollection, General Manager at Tamarind, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Mal R,

Thank you for your fantastic review of Tamarind!

I'm glad that you have been for both lunch and dinner and that you enjoyed both visits.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to Tamarind.

Regards,

Jespal Soor
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing