We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic”

The Grill at The Dorchester
Ranked #129 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Description: Our iconic Mayfair restaurant has been transformed for a new culinary chapter. First established in 1931, The Grill at The Dorchester quickly gained a reputation as the place to be for the finest grill food in London.In keeping with this original concept, Alain Ducasse's protege Christophe Marleix has created new seasonal menus. Delicious dishes range from grill favourites alongside the restaurant's signature blue lobster chowder and an extensive sweet souffle menu - the first of its kind in London. Lively and welcoming, the re-imagined restaurant fuses The Dorchester's iconic elegance with a contemporary tone and creative details. Interior architect Bruno Moinard was commissioned by The Dorchester to create a vibrant and timeless setting. For an exclusive event in an iconic yet timeless setting, the restaurant can accommodate groups and private events for up to 30 guests or reserved for exclusive use - please contact us for more information.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I eat in this restaurant after an annual wine tasting event I attend every February.
The service is perfect.
Cuisine excellent.
Wines first class.
Atmosphere grand.
And the decor regal.
You cannot find any fault.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiger50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    119
    64
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Breakfast in oppulance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Well, a truly 5 star breakfast. Staying here for a few nights so all included which is good news considering its a fair cost. The service is pleasent and charming, the food was nice and hot. Any request was happily met with a 'of course sir' I had all manner of fruit, pastrys and cereal before my cooked breakfast so it really sets you up for the day. Just excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HampshireNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Grill at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear HampshireNat,
I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your breakfast in The Grill during your visit to The Dorchester, especially the fruit, pastries and cereal available. I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager and Regional Director UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We went to the Grill at the Dorchester for a 70th Birthday on a Saturday lunch at 2pm. The service and attention was first class: not quite Ramsay standard but nearly as good. Very kindly, the maître d' agreed to cook a chateaubriand which was only on the dinner menu.

Food was good - the same chateaubriand was a little over cooked and the Dover sole too dry. Accompanying vegetables were well prepared and imaginative. Desserts were light and incredibly tasty. Atmosphere was slightly lacking and decor a little staid, but I understand it is going to be refurbished soon.

An expensive meal but certainly worth the money given the service and the special occasion (marked by a surprise birthday cake!) thank you for this!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cmb8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Grill at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear cmb8008,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your most recent visit to The Grill at The Dorchester. I am pleased to read your kind comments on the service and thank you for your feedback on the food. I will be sure to share your comments with the chef as all feedback we receive is of the utmost value to us. It is my pleasure that we were able to help celebrate your birthday by providing a birthday cake and I hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon.
Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager and Regional Director UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We dined here tonight at the Grill for my birthday meal, what can I say other than the decor is amazing, the food outstanding, service exceptional and has been a very memorable birthday experience with my partner and special friends. I highly recommend it and will definitely return again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank carina62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Grill at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear carina62_11,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to The Grill at The Dorchester. I am delighted you chose us for your birthday celebrations and I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed the food, the service and the décor. It will be my pleasure to share your review with everyone here and I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager and Regional Director UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“No second class citizen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had dinner at The Grill having previously eaten at Alain Ducasse at the Dorchester. Very good restaurant in its own right & we'll certainly be returning. Food is not cheap, but is very good quality and they don't skimp on the portions as many such hotel restaurants do. Chateaubriand was especially good. Service friendly & efficient, without being overbearing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snudge08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grill at The Dorchester also viewed

 

Been to The Grill at The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing