We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under refurbishment”

The Grill at The Dorchester
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grill at The Dorchester is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #123 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Description: Our iconic Mayfair restaurant has been transformed for a new culinary chapter. First established in 1931, The Grill at The Dorchester quickly gained a reputation as the place to be for the finest grill food in London.In keeping with this original concept, Alain Ducasse's protege Christophe Marleix has created new seasonal menus. Delicious dishes range from grill favourites alongside the restaurant's signature blue lobster chowder and an extensive sweet souffle menu - the first of its kind in London. Lively and welcoming, the re-imagined restaurant fuses The Dorchester's iconic elegance with a contemporary tone and creative details. Interior architect Bruno Moinard was commissioned by The Dorchester to create a vibrant and timeless setting. For an exclusive event in an iconic yet timeless setting, the restaurant can accommodate groups and private events for up to 30 guests or reserved for exclusive use - please contact us for more information.
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Under refurbishment”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My last experience at the Grill Room was OK, but they are now doing a complete renovation and apparently the new Grill Room will be quite different, open early June 2014. I will review it again then!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Grill at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Finspeak,
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoy dining in The Grill at The Dorchester and I look forward to welcoming you back again when we reopen in the autumn.
Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager & Regional Director UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    121
    68
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch but disappointed to read about anti-gay stance”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Ate at the Dorchester Grill last year as part of the top table deal. Had a lovely lunch with my partner and really enjoyed but am very disappointed to read about the anti-gay stance of this hotel's owner. With so much choice out there, i will be choosing to eat elsewhere in future. Disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank Jezza86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Grill at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Jezza86,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your lunch in The Grill and I am delighted you enjoyed the overall experience. Regarding your concerns, please be assured The Dorchester is managed by Dorchester Collection, and we abide by the laws of the countries where we operate. Other countries’ laws do not affect the policies that govern how we run our hotels. Our reputation, which has been built on service and integrity, speaks for itself. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you personally back to The Dorchester in the future.

Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager and Regional Director UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I eat in this restaurant after an annual wine tasting event I attend every February.
The service is perfect.
Cuisine excellent.
Wines first class.
Atmosphere grand.
And the decor regal.
You cannot find any fault.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiger50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Breakfast in oppulance”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Well, a truly 5 star breakfast. Staying here for a few nights so all included which is good news considering its a fair cost. The service is pleasent and charming, the food was nice and hot. Any request was happily met with a 'of course sir' I had all manner of fruit, pastrys and cereal before my cooked breakfast so it really sets you up for the day. Just excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HampshireNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Grill at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear HampshireNat,
I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your breakfast in The Grill during your visit to The Dorchester, especially the fruit, pastries and cereal available. I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager and Regional Director UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We went to the Grill at the Dorchester for a 70th Birthday on a Saturday lunch at 2pm. The service and attention was first class: not quite Ramsay standard but nearly as good. Very kindly, the maître d' agreed to cook a chateaubriand which was only on the dinner menu.

Food was good - the same chateaubriand was a little over cooked and the Dover sole too dry. Accompanying vegetables were well prepared and imaginative. Desserts were light and incredibly tasty. Atmosphere was slightly lacking and decor a little staid, but I understand it is going to be refurbished soon.

An expensive meal but certainly worth the money given the service and the special occasion (marked by a surprise birthday cake!) thank you for this!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cmb8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Grill at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear cmb8008,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your most recent visit to The Grill at The Dorchester. I am pleased to read your kind comments on the service and thank you for your feedback on the food. I will be sure to share your comments with the chef as all feedback we receive is of the utmost value to us. It is my pleasure that we were able to help celebrate your birthday by providing a birthday cake and I hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon.
Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager and Regional Director UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grill at The Dorchester also viewed

 

Been to The Grill at The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing