We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good Japanese”
Review of Umu

Umu
Reserve with OpenTable
Umu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,332 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really good Japanese”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Really good kaiseki dinner, really delivered. Every course was at least a 8/10 with sushi being great aswell (Uni was amazing, probably top 3 I've tried in London). Service/atmosphere was a little sub par as were seated next to people to close to us (reaching well into our personal space). Value wise is obviously not that great, but if you don't care and looking for great food go for it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dypwhuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    84
    41
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Superb Japanese food but with a price tag”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a fantastic Japanese restaurant with excellent service and an amazing wine list. The freshest sashimi I have eaten in London. The prices are eye-watering but then this is probably the most expensive real estate in London.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RickZp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Real high quality Japanese cuisine for those who can spot the difference between fake Japanese houses and the real thing”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

UMU is simple to rate as a restaurant especially if you like high quality cuisine and are fed up with friends advising you "oh i know a great jap. restaurant" and you realise after having been there that your friends don't even know that there are different grades for rice, fish etc...

Well Umu is a reference here in London if you want the real stuff. The negative, it is not cheap but when I eat raw fish (for some of my dishes), don't know about you but I personnaly do not take risks with the quality, origins of the ingredients I put in my body especially if some of them are raw!... etc. At umu. This is very high end.

Was there yesterday evening. The only let down till recently were the desserts which were very very average. Thx God they have recruted a new chef and at last you can finish an excellent meal on a high note.

I recommend to sit at he bar/counter: you can see the chefs working. Overall the restaurant is very pretty and well lit up.

Finally, there must be a special mention for a japanese waiter there: I don't understand what he says when he explains the dishes but he says it with so much passion and he is so funny that he is great! if you go there, you will see!

They have also recuited ane xcellent floor manager last month that I first met many moons ago. A very good recrutment.

The wine list is great but only if your last name is Gates and your first is Bill.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank GuillaumeTirel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
197 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“If you're on an expense account”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

A very nice upscale london table. Superb menu, but very imprecise guidance front the staff. Absolutely outstanding freshness and execution. Not hugely original but truly sophisticated and refined. A wonderful sake list, but relatively inexperienced sommelier. It it worth it? Yes, if you're not paying or if you don't need to care. Great experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank i-live-for-lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Umu isn't cheap so don't come on a budget - but it's definitely a special night out.

We chose to sit at the sushi bar so we were able to watch the sushi chefs craft their art.
All of the courses on the tasting menu were incredible. Beautiful flavours, textures, presentation.
The restaurant itself was understated, you could quite easily walk past the front door.. inside it's very dark & elegant. The waiters are helpful & patient,explaining each dish as it was served.
It was an expensive night but the sushi was exquisite.
Well worth a visit for a special night out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bl0ndie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umu also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Umu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing