We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks good from the outside, disappointed inside”
Review of Union Tavern

Union Tavern
Ranked #105 of 22,509 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Clerkenwell
Description: The Union Tavern is a classic pub in a Victorian style where the emphasis not on food but great food, great drinks and good times. The menu has a number of elements with a big focus on steaks, pub classics as well as A'la carte dining. Look out for the great value set menus where 2 courses at lunch time are only £8.90 And the early dinner set menu is only £11.90. We offer friendly and efficient service in a warm atmosphere with great food, real ales and an extensive wine list families are welcome.
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Looks good from the outside, disappointed inside”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This pub is just over the road from the Holiday Inn, which I was staying in. It looks great from the outside - a traditional olde world pub, with a great bar friendly staff and a good selection of beers.

Tried the food, which is served from an open kitchen. Have to say I was disappointed, had Sunday lunch, which wash;t cheap, meat was not the best, veg was overcooked, not enough gravy, also was a very disappointing veggie selection with no real choice - a shame - this place could be amazing.

Still a nice place that could be so much more

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dma1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    148
    36
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Great place where to have brunch, lunch or simply a beer with your friends!
Located near to Kings Cross station, the Union Tavern is the right place where to have typical brits food and to feel the atmosphere of a proper British pub!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank venvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Second time at this place and will continue coming here whenever in the area!”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Love the menu, the smoked chicken salad is excellent. Just wish they had their 2-course deal a few hours later on weeknights!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank dgrbleu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and great value for money!”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I visited the Union Tavern for the first time last Thursday evening and was very impressed by the food and value. We arrived before 7pm which meant we could select 2 courses for £10.95. I was surprised at how good the food was, especially as it was so cheap. I had the fish cake starter followed by a gourmet style chicken burger with chips. The sticky toffee pudding was delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missy2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place - good food but pricy for what you get!”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Attended a Christmas party at this venue and where as I expected to pay a slightly increased premium for a special meal I felt the menu was overpriced for what you got and the service a bit of a mixed bag - some of the staff were excellent and really paid attention to customer service but one or two of their colleagues let them down. For example at the end of the meal a waitress asked if we would like coffee I ordered a plain black coffee but then had to ask three times before it finally arrived some 30-40 minutes later! That said the food was good - just not what I would call value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Welshguy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Union Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Union Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing