We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Nouveau Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zaika

Zaika
Reserve with OpenTable
Zaika is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #194 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$66
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
Transit: High Street Kensington Tube
Description: The name Zaika translates quite literally as sophisticated flavours and this is the ethos behind our innovating menu presenting adaptations of Indian food
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
153 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Nouveau Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a great restaurant in a magnificent building on Kensington High Street. We were expecting an elegant Indian restaurant, Zarika surprised us with a new dining experience. The appetizers were wonderful, the salad very fresh, and the main courses unlike any we have tasted elsewhere including India. The service was delightful and the wine list very complete. It is well worth a tube ride and away from the bustle of central London. The cocktails and wine are expensive but worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    184
    69
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were staying at the Milestone which is only a door or two away but ended up in Zaika when we looked on Tripadvisor for a decent Indian in London. It's far from the usual 'high Street' indian restaurant and we will certainly return. The waiter found it very amusing when we ordered a main course to share as our starter but this was only because we were spoilt for choice. The presentation of he food was excellent, the quality even better and the taste exceptional. It was a Monday night when we ate and quiet when we entered around 6.30pm but full when we left. Certainly worth a visit. It wasn't cheap but it is in Kensington and was far superior to the usual Indian.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RNBScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“In a city with outstanding Indian food...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

...Zaika is tops!
Zaika's menu offerings run the gamut of Indian food and each dish offered is outsandingly delicious! The restaurant is conveniently located a couple of blocks from the High St. Kensington tube stop. We enjoyed Zaika so much that we ate dinner there twice during our three-night stay in London.
Not to be outdone by the food is Zaika's bar program. They have a wide selection of spirits and cocktails and wines.

Don't miss Zaika!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
297 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“amazing! and don't forget the cocktail list simply amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Zaika of kesington is simply delicious, we have tried the welcome menu and it has been a great experience. The quality of the food is very high, the wine list is good but is the service and the room that make the difference, it looks like you are back in the 1920 and don't forget the cocktail list simply amazing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RealBusinessReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eat first”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Really lovely food nice decoration good location but after spending £61 for 2 with only water in addition to the set 6 course meal, it was simply not enough food. Sadly, we ended up with a sneaky bowl of chips on the way home. Recommend it for the amazing taste but don't go with an empty stomach.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ananda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zaika also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Zaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing