We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't get it”

My Old Dutch Pancake House
Reserve with OpenTable
My Old Dutch Pancake House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,734 of 22,797 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chelsea
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just don't get it”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Having spent a great deal of time in the Kings Road over the years I have always passed My Old Dutch and said I must try it one day, yesterday was that day and what a disappointment.

I went with a party of 10 of mixed age from 8-50 and it is good they have tables to accommodate groups of that size which is probably the only positive of the evening.

The menu is bizarre, basically think of a cuisine - indian, Greek or Chinese, then imagine placing that food on a pancake used like a pizza base and serving

The portions are big, served on huge delft plates but is stodgy and relatively tasteless, looks like a pizza, wish I had a pizza!

Service is hit and miss, the first person served had finished with 2 people still waiting to be served

Food is cheap, for 10 it was just over £200 with drinks but if I am honest not value for money as for flavour and texture I just don't get it, sorry

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NWL72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    133
    44
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Big portion & good food!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was our 1st time to My Old Dutch. We miss the American breakfast ever since we moved to London 3 1/2 years ago. Fortunately, we found this place. We ordered our food & didn't expect to see such a big portion of our food. Usually, the portion size here in England is smaller than in the US. Anyway, we'd a wonderful meal which energized our day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely little place, fantastic food”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Have visited this restaurant many times. The food is really nice and staff are very friendly. Good value for money

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura462230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice concept, great staff, food ok”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Dropped in having heard great things about the My Old Dutch pancakes and wasn't disappointed; I ordered a sweet pancake with maple syrup and butter which was a good size and well cooked. Nicely presented on big china plates too. Soup to start was a little bland and unimaginative though - could have been much better. Overall good value at just over a tenner including tip - staff deserved this, they were charming....

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarnabyHilbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pancakes are the best”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Best place to get either sweet or savoury pancakes in a duth themed environment

Must go restaurant and lovely staff will be going back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BubblaInc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed My Old Dutch Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to My Old Dutch Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing