We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Xmas treat”
Review of The Montagu

The Montagu
Ranked #1,744 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$104
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Marylebone
Transit: We are 2 minutes walk from Marble Arch - Central Line and 5 minutes walk from Bond Street - Jubilee Line. There are many buses close by as we are 2 minutes walk from Oxford Street.
Description: Offering views over Portman Square, The Montagu provides a vibrant setting for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and weekend brunch, with live music offered during dinner and weekend brunch. With its striking open kitchen and Chef's Table from which guests can enjoy front-row seats to the kitchen, this buzzing restaurant offers a wide range of British and European dishes prepared using only the finest seasonal ingredient. Emerging from established relationships between the restaurant and local, award-winning suppliers and independent British farms, The Montagu has been able to carefully select an array of vibrant seasonal ingredients, in order to craft a series of sumptuous dishes for the new summer menu. A full à la carte menu is offered alongside a set menu for lunch Monday to Friday and for daily dinner. The set menu is priced at £25 for two courses and £30 for three courses.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Special Xmas treat”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very nice place to soend your xmas eve dinner. Food quality is nice and the atmosphere was very Xmas@

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francis_W67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, Manager at The Montagu, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review your visit at The Montagu. I appreciate to learn all your positive comments, which I have shared with the restaurant and team and the chefs.
I hope that you give us the opportunity of welcoming you the next time at The Montagu on Christmas or different occasion.

With kind regards,

Carlos Villacanas
Restaurant Manager
The Montagu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    82
    18
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Sinai, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very average hotel restaurant that is short staffed.Very average food Only visit there if you are at the hotel and do not have a choice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TerriJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, Manager at The Montagu, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit in The Montagu. I am very sorry to hear that you found our service short stuffed and the food was average. I hope that you give us the opportunity of welcoming you the next time at The Montagu, where you can contact me directly and I will assure that your experience will be up to our standards.

With kind regards,

Carlos Villacanas
Restaurant Manager
The Montagu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Second time here for afternoon tea and to be honest I wasn't as impressed as before.
I found the whole experience lost kudos as the service lacked warmth. Please tell you staff to smile and inject some personality. Kept waiting for our tea . Not sure if this was due to a later booking and the fact that the staff were tired.
Service aside we opted for the sex in the city option which was good but having been before I feel the standard tea is better value. The pastries weren't as fancy as before. In fact the quality of the biscuits was poor.
That said the ambience of the place can't be faulted though I left feeling a big disappointed. Come on hyatt get those staff to perform better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PauliePosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, Manager at The Montagu, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit in The Montagu. I am very sorry to learn about your Afternoon Tea experience in The Montagu was not impressed as before. I have addressed your comments with our Executive Chef and the restaurant team.
I hope that you give us the opportunity of welcoming you the next time at The Montagu, where you can contact me directly and I will assure that your experience will be up to our standards.

With kind regards,

Carlos Villacanas
Restaurant Manager
The Montagu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Excellent service and very good food in a lovely location. We went on a deal which provided excellent value. A very nice evening made more enjoyable by the faultless service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walpolepark11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, Manager at The Montagu, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review your recent visit at The Montagu. I appreciate to learn all your positive comments which I have shared with the restaurant team and our Chefs. We are delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy our good value set menu and you had a nice evening. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Montagu again very soon.
Also, I would like to recommend you to try our Champagne Sunday Brunch, which includes Champagne, Premium wines, soft drinks and a fantastic selection of buffet style food for £65 per person.


With kind regards,

Carlos Villacanas
Restaurant Manager
The Montagu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“excellent service”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Dinner here using the voucher was excellent, the waiters were attentive but not obtrusive, Harry was knowledgeable about menu, helpful with food choice, he made the evening special with his friendly helpful service.
Food was well presented and tasted very good, was served hot and it was interesting watching the chefs in the kitchen preparing the meals.
A lovely relaxing evening meal with excellent staff and food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidays072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, Manager at The Montagu, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review your visit at The Montagu. I appreciate to learn about you found our service and food excellent. I have shared your comments with the restaurant team and our Chefs.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Montagu again very soon.

With kind regards,

Carlos Villacanas
Restaurant Manager
The Montagu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Montagu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing