We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian gem in Hammersmith”
Review of Rangrez

Rangrez
Reserve with OpenTable
Rangrez is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #477 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$19
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Hammersmith / Fulham
Description: A family-run restaurant committed to offer the taste of authentic India, focusing on traditional Indian flavours & spices and giving them a modern twist. Our chefs and their cuisine started life as a family affair, they come from northwest part of India- Punjab, and became known for preparing community feast so good, with such well balanced spice blends (we hand-grind our spices, of course!) and using high quality ingredients, that we had to bring their talent to streets of London, so the culinary capital can enjoy the Punjab's best kept secret.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Indian gem in Hammersmith”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

"Excellent Indian food in small, friendly restaurant just steps from Hammersmith Tube station. My friend and I shared two starters and two curries, and each dish was distinctly flavourful. Our desserts -- we both opted for the 'Mix and Match' (sweet dumpling, carrot pudding and ice cream) -- were a treat, too. And the staff provided cheerful, helpful and prompt service. We had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Highly recommended! "

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JBS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangrez, Manager at Rangrez, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear JBS55

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit and we met your expectations.

At Rangrez we take extra care and attention to ensure all our dishes are distinctive. Thank you for you comments on service as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Kind Regards
Team Rangrez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    73
    22
    12
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Booked a table here as it was close to the Apollo. Read the reviews 6 poor ones rest excellent, or good, out of 100. Not enough to put me off! Glad it didn't, we had an excellent meal. The food was well cooked and presented and was delicious. Portions were not as large as most Indian restaurants, but that meant we ate it all rather than sending food back! The food was 'lighter' without the bloated feeling you can often have. When we asked we were told everything is cooked in olive oil or other oil rather than ghee, it did make a difference. We were asked what heat we preferred from mild through medium and spicy to hot. All chose medium as we were going to a show later. It was lovely allowing the spices to shine through. My rocket chicken was delicious. Apparently the toilet could do with some attention, according to a female member of the party, but she agreed she came to eat not to use the loo and she thoroughly enjoyed her food. Recommended :0)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Len W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangrez, Manager at Rangrez, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear LenW

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to learn that the bad reviews did not put you off and you enjoyed your visit to Rangrez.

It is our aim to deliver best quality food with exceptional service.

We thank you for your custom and look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Kind Regards
Team Rangrez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Have travelled around India several times and eaten everything from street food to home cooking to top end restaurants so feel I know a bit about Indian food.

Didn't get off to a good start with the little poppadoms. Had to send them back as they were stale. They replaced them but they're still not great poppadoms. I used to work in an Asian grocers that sold them and have tried them before but nobody at the table liked them at all.

In fact nobody really liked any of the food that much. It was all OK but not special. Just very average. I had their signature dish (salmon) but it was dry. My friend couldn't eat the Peshawari naan as it was so sweet he said it tasted as though they had sprinkled sugar on it. As if they're not sweet enough already!

I'm sorry but I have to agree with others that the huge number of 5 star reviews from people with no other review history is a little suspicious. I certainly can't see how else this has become the 51st highest rated restaurant in London. Very strange.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mars63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangrez, Manager at Rangrez, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Mars63

Thank you for your review. We are dismayed to learn that according to you there were some shortfalls in the food preparation.

At Rangrez it is our mission to ensure we deliver the best quality flavoursome food with exceptional service.

We have noted down your comments and we will ensure that we work on your comments to make up the shortfalls.

We hope this will not deter you from visiting Rangrez and you will give us another chance.

We look forward to seeing you again in near future.

Kind Regards
Team Rangrez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Really good!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We went there because we wanted to try indian food close to our hotel. We looked on TripAdvisor and it was a really good advice.

The place is small, about 40 places at most. It might even go unnoticed because of its size, it's about two minutes of walk from Hammersmith underground station.

We were warmly welcomed by the lady owner, a very kind lady. She was very patient as English is not our native langage. We decided to follow her advice on the menu. We took popadums, prawn tandoori and Khatti meethi chat papdi as starters.

Our main courses were the salmon toofani which come with spinach and basmati rice and the lamb Do-Payoza which come with naan bread.

The food is fresh and excellent, we had no space left for dessert after that.

The bill (for two) amounts to 75£ with a bottle of red wine, which I think is well worth it.

Overall, it's a really good restaurant. I would have given 4.5 if it were possible.

The only (and small) drawback are the toilets, they're simply not as clean as the rest of the restaurant. They are in the basement and they're grim, please do a little clean up of the doors, there are stains on them. I didn't find paper towel to dry hands.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank njmorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangrez, Manager at Rangrez, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Njmorin

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Rangrez and the food was upto your expectations.

We assure you that toilets are regularly cleaned and now we have redecorated that area.

We thank you for your custom and we look forward to welcome you back in near future.

Kind Regards
Team Rangrez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A happy accident!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Having stumbled upon this place by accident, I felt particularly pleased to have made such a discovery! It was quiet when I went in, which allowed me to have a good chat with the manager. It's quite obvious they really care about a more authentic experience in an Indian restaurant - music to my ears! I guess the only disappointment was that, in an effort to offer enough 'old favourites' on their menu the more interesting regional specialities are somewhat obscured. That said, the quality of cooking for a perfectly ubiquitous dish like a chicken biryani was well above average. There were plenty of nice touches in the presentation and tableware which created an extremely good atmosphere to the place. I hope that it starts to get the recognition it deserves and that, in time, they start to feel more bold about putting regional specialities to the fore.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomRhonun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangrez, Manager at Rangrez, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Tom Rhonun

Thank you for trying Rangrez and taking time to write this review. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your meal.

It is our aim to deliver our customers with best quality meal and exceptional service.

We thank you for your custom and look forward to welcome you back in near future.

Kind Regards
Team Rangrez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rangrez also viewed

 
Greater London, England
 

Been to Rangrez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing