We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place just oozes class !!!!!”
Review of Scalini

Scalini
Ranked #1,664 of 27,217 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chelsea
Reviewed 3 August 2018

We arrived here on a Saturday lunchtime with no reservation dressed casually having spent the morning shopping. We were warmly welcomed and entertained with some fabulous food and quality wine. Michel, our host, could not have done more to make us feel welcome. We enjoyed it so much we returned the following Friday with friends. Love the ambience, the service and most importantly the food.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amortimer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 48 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

We went to Scalini to celebrate my wife's birthday with friends and family. The welco e was warm and friendly and the restaurant has a good ambience and atmosphere. I found the service a little disjointed as they seem to have separate teams that serve the starter and main and the coffees and deserts, which resulted in them missing an order. The biggest disappointment was the main meal where two pieces of Halibut were over cooked and at £36 a main course you expect more and than a plate of boiled rice and over cooked fish smothered in a creamy tomatoe sauce, which left the birthday girl and her god father disappointed. Overall service was good but the food underwhelming and over priced.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank mrdgLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

We went to Scalini's to celebrate my wife's birthday with friends. The ambience in the restaurant service was good albeit a little disjointed as we had a number of different people serving us throughout the meal, they seem to use a different team to serve the starters and mains and then the deserts and coffees and one of our drinks orders was forgotten. The main disappointment was the food, particularly the main courses, our halibut was overcooked and smothered with a tomato mascarpone type sauce. When you are paying £35 for a main I expect better in terms of cooking execution and dish presentation. The starters and deserts were ok, but nothing out of the ordinary. Based on the price and quality of food on the night, I wouldn't recommend or return.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

Scalini is one of my favourite Italian restaurants in the world!
The food is divine!
Always order the calamari and ribs to start! the rib sauce is out of this world!
For main I like to mix it up! you can't go wrong!
the atmosphere and layout is super compact/elbow to elbow typical Italian but when you receive your food - it;s all worth it!
you won't be disappointed!

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank Giovanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

The pasta is done al dente, as it should. Service is great. The veal Milanese is soft and crispy. All fish are done very well, with or without sauce. Deserts are delicious, specially the tiramisu. Very good wine selection. nice ambiance

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank davidgal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scalini also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Scalini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing