We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service Excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petrichor at the Cavendish London

Petrichor at the Cavendish London
Ranked #329 of 22,225 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$44
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Description: Petrichor at The Cavendish London is a stylish Piccadilly restaurant, serving contemporary, 2AA Rosette awarded British cuisine and a great value pre-theatre menu. Situated on the first floor of The Cavendish London hotel, Petrichor has an enviable view overlooking the exclusive boutiques and galleries of Jermyn Street, St. James's and Piccadilly. Here, Head Chef Nitin Padwal and his team use the finest seasonal and regional produce to create monthly changing menus of delicious modern British cuisine. From the indulgent British breakfast to the casual a la carte lunch and dinner menus, Petrichor is committed to using only sustainable, locally sourced produce. Coupled with the high standards of customer service, these homemade dishes are the highlight of the memorable dining experience you will enjoy at Petrichor.
Orpington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent service Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My daughter and I dined here this evening. Service was excellent couldn't fault it. We both had the scallops to start which were excellent. If you are looking for a great dining experience then this is it. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the service.Taste cards are welcomed which makes for an even better experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BritabroadOrpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at Petrichor at the Cavendish London, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear BritAbroadOrpington,

Thank you very much for choosing Petrichor as your dining destination using your Tastecard.
WIth the competition in London being fiers when it comes to restaurants it is a great testimony that we have been able to ensure you had a great dining experience on both the food as well as service side.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    148
    39
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Late Dinner and Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

After arriving late for Dinner, we were shown to our seats, even though the maitre'd seemed to be thrown by us not booking (restaurant was empty). Starters of parfait and seafood went down well with mains of chicken and steak. Staff were very friendly and polite and wanted to do their best. Would definitely eat there again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennyc1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at Petrichor at the Cavendish London, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Jennyc1965,

How wonderfull to hear that you would defenitly eat with us again.
That is the best praise we can receive and what we strive for every day.
Apologies for the reaction of the staff upon your arrival at the restaurant, we do get many people walking in later in the evening so there is no excuse for that.

Looking forward welcoming you back with us again shortly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Spent a very pleasant evening at Petrichor last Saturday - candlelight, quiet background music, comfortable chairs, excellent service and delicious food at very reasonable prices - perfect.
We booked a Top Table pre-theatre deal (2 courses for £20.50 or 3 for £24.50 (+ service charge) both with a free drink). Carlos was our host for the evening and he couldn’t have done more for us - his team are clearly very well trained in hospitality, our friendly waiter asked if we were going on to a show later and when my husband mentioned it was my birthday celebration treat the waiter returned with two glasses of champagne courtesy of the management - a lovely unexpected surprise. The meal was superb, well cooked, perfect mix of flavours and beautifully presented, coffee came with scrumptious homemade truffles and petits fours followed by second helpings with the bill.
Would highly recommend Petrichor if you appreciate good food, in a relaxed atmosphere - however, if you prefer a buzzy atmosphere and large platefuls probably not for you. Word of warning - best to book in advance, when we left there was a 45 minute wait for walk-ins.
We finished off our evening with a London By Night bus tour (stop at Green Park a couple of minutes walk from restaurant) also recommended.
Thank you Carlos and team for a most enjoyable birthday meal to remember.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at Petrichor at the Cavendish London, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Jean B,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your birthday treat and that we managed to make the evening a little bit more special.
Fridays and Saturdays get really busy indeed and we recommend our guests to book in advance to avoid disappointment as it regularly happens that we are fully booked.

Thank you for highlighting Carlos and his team for their efforts and i will make sure that they get word of your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great service and food....but there's a problem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We went on an amazing toptable deal that included a glass of wine and three courses. The food was ample, beautifully prepared and served, and cooked to perfection. Waiting staff very helpful and friendly.

The only thing that lets this place down is ambience. It is decorated like a typical hotel restaurant, slightly dated, and lacks that natural buzz. I'm sure something can be done about that, maybe have the piano playing, or look at other ways to get the restaurant full.

Anyway, all in all, a good night, and only scored down due to the boring atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bengalitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at Petrichor at the Cavendish London, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Bengalitraveller,

Your feedback is much appreciated and we are very happy that you thought the food and service were of high quality and the meal itself good value.

We are currently working on a few things to try and improve the atmosphere in our restaurant and hope to be able to find the right mix fairly soon.

Surely hope you will be back to see what we have done
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely food but disappointing service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We ate here on a Friday pre-theatre Toptable deal which was 2 courses and a drink (wine/beer/soft drink) for £20.50 or 3 courses and a drink for £24.50. The offer was great value and I'd done a bit of research on Tripadvisor before selecting the restaurant - this was fairly well rated. Obviously, because we were dining so early at 5.45pm I didn't really expect much atmosphere. There was only us and 2 other tables dining at that time. The starters arrived and were excellently presented (see photos) but no-one checked whether our food was OK. Unfortunately, my partner had ordered deep fried goats cheese in breadcrumbs but, although looked delicious, 2 out of 3 pieces were empty of cheese! I assume melted during cooking but even so we expected better. We pointed this out to the waitress who looked slightly flustered but we said we weren't complaining but thought the chef should know. The main course was lovely (salmon for me and a posh burger for my partner) and the same waitress came back this time to check everything was ok. The dishes were cleared by a different waiter who asked if we'd like the dessert menu - I did but my partner didn't. Unfortunately, even though the restaurant wasn't busy and staff were setting up tables when there appeared to be no newcomers arriving, no-one came to take my order for over 10 minutes, by which time I was worried if I did order, it wouldn't arrive for the same amount of time and we had a show to get to so I decided to give it a miss and ask for the bill. We were brought the bill promptly which was £46 including the discretionary 12.5% tip. We either had £45 or £60 so we put the £60 down thinking we'd get change but no-one came to collect our payment either so the last £20 was exchanged for the £5 and off we went. On the whole, I would still recommend this place as the food (apart from the missing cheese) was excellent and the deal was great, especially for central London, it's just a shame the service went so downhill.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieBlue09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at Petrichor at the Cavendish London, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear KatieBlue09,

Please allow me to thank you for your detailed feedback which is really helpfull for me to follow up with the Chef and F&B/ Restaurant manager.

The Chef will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food however also disappointed with your comments on the goats cheese and i will ensure he looks into this as it should not be the case that they are empty.

On the Service point of view i cannot apologize enough and surely will feed this back to the Restaurant management team as it seems like there is a training issue and there is no excuse to keep you waiting for so long.
Hopefully we can welcome you back soon and show you our real service levels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petrichor at the Cavendish London also viewed

 

Been to Petrichor at the Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing