We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Theatre Dinner”

Petrichor at the Cavendish London
Ranked #605 of 24,250 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$50
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Description: Petrichor at The Cavendish London is a stylish Piccadilly restaurant, serving contemporary, 2AA Rosette awarded British cuisine and a great value pre-theatre menu. Situated on the first floor of The Cavendish London hotel, Petrichor has an enviable view overlooking the exclusive boutiques and galleries of Jermyn Street, St. James's and Piccadilly. Here, Head Chef Nitin Padwal and his team use the finest seasonal and regional produce to create monthly changing menus of delicious modern British cuisine. From the indulgent British breakfast to the casual a la carte lunch and dinner menus, Petrichor is committed to using only sustainable, locally sourced produce. Coupled with the high standards of customer service, these homemade dishes are the highlight of the memorable dining experience you will enjoy at Petrichor.
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had the pre-theatre set menu here in June but I waited to write this review until after I had made another booking for September!
The smoked duck breast brioche starter was one of the best things I have ever tasted and I would have happily had the same again for a main course. My husband enjoyed his mackerel but conceded I had "won"
I had the salmon for main & it was a generous portion beautifully cooked whilst my husband had the chicken breast - they were both delicious & it was a close run thing but this time he "won" Strawberries for desert finished off an outstanding meal.
The staff were attentive & kept the water topped up. Although it was pre-theatre so only spent about an hour and a half here we never felt rushed.
The drinks were a little slow - we had delicious Champagne cocktails @£11 each and they had to go downstairs to get them from the bar which was very busy, still it stopped us from having too many.
Saw people having afternoon tea in the lounge area & that looked delicious too.

Our meal was amazing value for £20.50 (3 courses & water) per person. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank greenbarbara8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at Petrichor at the Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Greenbarbara8,

Great to hear that you will be back in September, we are changing our menu in a few weeks time, however you will be happy to know that the Duck starter you are raving about will remain on our menu due to popular demand. Glad you thought our menu was good value and we are looking forward seeing you back in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 322 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

As other reviewers have pointed out, this is extremely good value on the Opentable deal- £30.00 for three courses from the A la Carte menu which includes a glass of champagne. Lots of choice, all exquisitely served and wonderful flavours. Service is friendly without being overbearing. They accommodated a special dietary request too which I appreciated. The only down side is the setting... As others have said, the restaurant is obviously a hotel restaurant and it feels like one. Windows look rather 60s and lighting and decor are unimaginative. Tables are set brasserie style, but the food is worth more than that. White tablecloths are needed, something to hide the metal of the window frames, ambiance lighting... Nothing a TV makeover programme couldn't suggest. However, don't let this put you off. The food speaks for itself.

3  Thank Delius17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at Petrichor at the Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Delius17,

Thank you for you great praise on the food and service provided at Petrichor restaurant.
We are aware that the décor needs an update and that is scheduled in for next year. As you said hope that doesn't put you off returning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I can say without doubt that this is truly one of the best meals we have had in a restaurant in London.

After a tiring day of shopping in London, our party of four were looking for somewhere to eat and rest before heading to the West End for a show that same evening. Finishing off our shopping on Jermyn Street, we came across the Cavendish. After checking the Pre Theatre menu, we decided to step in to make a reservation. We were assisted by a very helpful and professional individual called Bibek. This young man was extremely attentive and considerate. Thank you Bibek!

The food was excellent. The taste, presentation and service was impeccable.

We would highly recommend this restaurant for dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Travellotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at Petrichor at the Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Travellotte,

Hope you had a safe journey back to Vancouver and thank you for visiting Petrichor on your recent visit to London.
I am sure the entire team will be very happy with your comments stating that your meal with us was one of the best you had in a London restaurant. Our Pre Theatre menu is very good value and popular with both residents as non residents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I managed to squeeze in another visit to The Petrichor this weekend and as usual the service was fantastic. The menu had change a little so I tried the goats cheese ravioli then the fillet of beef and they were both delicious! Plenty of Chablis to wash it all down with and a great evening was had by all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Esther70s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at Petrichor at the Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Esther70s

Thank you for visiting us for the 3rd time.
Glad we have been able to show your a consistent offering of good service and food.
We change our menu every couple of months to keep in line with seasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I went there today with my brother and sister pre-theatre at lunch. With some trepidation at the menu I chose the salmon followed by the strawberries and have to say the food was just amazing presentation wise. However the different tastes that you experience when eating was just luscious and very unusual. I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant. Thank you to Aaron and Carlos for the attentive service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joanne12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S, Manager at Petrichor at the Cavendish London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Joanne12014,

Am very glad that you enjoyed your meal with us on your recent visit with your family and your comments about Carlos and Aaron will be passed on for sure.
Look forward welcoming you back to Petrichor soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petrichor at the Cavendish London also viewed

 

Been to Petrichor at the Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing